Sam Spade at Starbucks

Today’s article is entitled “Sam Spade at Starbucks.” It is an opinion piece published in the New York Times, written by David Brooks and can be found here: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/13/opinion/brooks-sam-spade-at-starbucks.html?src=me&ref=general

In the article, the author appears to question the idealism of youth and suggests that young people who are imbued with this idealism should be more practical and realistic. As a 40 year old who has yet to grow completely out of this youthful idealism, while I see where Mr. Brooks is going with his hypothesis, I also have to question the need for young people to proactively seek out opportunities to be more practical.

When I think back to when I started doing public policy work, I remember feeling extremely frustrated that people placed such limitations on what they would allow me to do. I felt like I had so much to offer, but it seemed that people were unwilling to listen to my ideas because of my age. I was bursting with energy and passion and ideas, some of which were lofty goals, but some of which were absolutely achievable. But it was hard to find adults who were willing to give me a chance to contribute in a meaningful way.

When I did finally find a mentor who encouraged me to aim high and go after what I believed was right, I did just that. I remember, perhaps naively, believing that I could almost single-handedly pass legislation  to give battered immigrant women in Texas access to public benefits like Medicaid and cash assistance before they had been in the country for five years. Federal law bars most immigrants from accessing these benefits for their first five years in the United States, but states can choose to create exceptions to this law. That is what I intended to do – in Texas.

I think I still have a copy of that draft legislation, with mark-ups from people who I worked with to try and get the bill passed; in the end, the bill failed by one vote. I have often thought that I should frame that draft legislation and hang it next to my desk as a reminder of what I once believed was possible.

For good or ill, my sights at the state legislature have been recalibrated to a much more achievable level than they were then. But sometimes I mourn the loss of the belief that anything could be done if you tried hard enough. Besides, history has repeatedly shown us that true social change only comes about when someone  is willing to believe that change is possible.

Life experience forces all of us to become more pragmatic as we get older. We are faced with harsh realities that remind us that everything does not always work out for the best and that some people do have bad intentions. But do young people really need to go out and seek that type of education, or is that simply the education that comes with age and experience? Doesn’t that education come to us all eventually anyway?

I think of the idealism of youth as a precious resource that we can only benefit from nurturing and encouraging. Who knows – the young person who one person dismisses as too young to know anything could turn out to be the next great leader or inventor?

As usual, this article raises some interesting questions for me: Doesn’t this article really just portray the natural tensions between generations that happens periodically as one generation ages and another prepares to enter adulthood? How does this idealism that David Brooks refers to differ from the activism of people from my parent’s generation in the 60’s and 70’s? Are we living a in a different time that enables young people to look outside their borders more for their activism rather than within the United States? Are young people disconnected from local political issues? The last presidential election certainly questioned this assumption. Do you think that young people will be as energized in November and will make their way to the polls?

What is it that makes older people so afraid of the idealism of youth or of acknowledging what young people are capable of?

Do people have to lose their idealism as they age or are there strategies and tactics to keep those dreams and values and philosophies alive? Doesn’t society benefit from young people pushing and encouraging their elders to think about things in a new way? Doesn’t being faced with young idealism help people reconnect to their own youth in some way? Or is David Brooks right that young people just need to be more practical?

What do you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts. Thanks for reading!

11 Comments

Filed under Career Planning, Education, Parenting, Youth Leadership

11 responses to “Sam Spade at Starbucks

  1. out

    I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  2. You could certainly see your skills within the
    work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not
    afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  3. If some one needs expert view regarding blogging and site-building afterward i advise him/her to visit this weblog, Keep up the fastidious job.

  4. -The second section of the test is a practical analysis.

    Passing the exam will get you a certificate which will allow you to get a job as a
    certified nursing assistant anywhere in the country. Observing the overall health of the client including their social and emotional well being in there home.

  5. I am not certain the place you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend a while studying more or understanding more.
    Thank you for fantastic information I used to be in search of
    this info for my mission.

  6. Actually, there are a penis enlargement number of factors such ass stress orr anxiety.
    Steven A Grover and colleagues studied a
    group of medicatioons called PDE5 inhibitors.
    All these happen because of using the Bluze Capsules and Mast Mood Oil
    is one of the people are embarrassed or asamed of having erectile dysfunction E.

    As a result, you can heal your body. Causes of Erectile DysfunctionPhysicaal and medical problems can cause or worsen erectile dysfunction and premature ejaculation. Helfand led the study,
    Dr.

  7. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I am unable to subscribe to it.

    Is there anybody having similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly
    respond? Thanx!!

  8. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog
    posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately
    stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed.
    I such a lot unquestionably will make sure to don?t forget this site and provides it a
    look regularly.

  9. I do not even know the way I stopped up here, but I thought this publish was
    good. I don’t know who you’re but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in the event you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  10. If you are going for finest contents like me, simply go to see this web page everyday
    as it offers quality contents, thanks

  11. Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident
    did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

