The Skyboxification of America: Michael Sandel on Market Moralism

Today, I am posting a book review about Michael Sandel’s new book “What Money Can’t Buy: The Moral Limits of Markets.” The review was written by Michael Fitzgerald and published by Newsweek. You can find the article here.

Michael Sandel is a professor at Harvard who teaches a wildly popular philosophy course called “Justice.” This class was broadcast on PBS and by the BBC and explores issues of morality, using classical philosophical theory as his framework for examining modern day moral dilemmas.

A group that my husband and I belong to has been hosting viewing parties of these lectures and they are absolutely fascinating. It is especially interesting to observe how Professor Sandel engages his students and encourages them to think critically about these theoretical philosophical issues. The lectures are always followed by a lively discussion about how these philosophies and theories impact current political realities. Most recently, we watched the series on Libertarianism, which certainly has much relevancy in today’s political climate.

While I haven’t read “What Money Can’t Buy,” the idea that Sandel lays out in the book regarding the “skyboxification of America” is intriguing to me. Sandel coined this phrase to refer to the lack of frequent opportunities for people with different socio-economic statuses to engage with people from other backgrounds in everyday life. His book also explores the drive to subject all aspects of life to the market, regardless of the weightier moral and ethical issues involved.

I have not read this book and am only halfway through the Justice series, but I love the way that Professor Sandel makes people think critically about the world around them.

Discussion questions: Have you taken Michael Sandel’s course or watched his lectures? What are some key points and ideas that you took from that experience? Do you believe that our culture places a monetary value on certain things that should not be subjected to this type of analysis? What types of things? What do you think about the “skyboxification of America” idea? If you are a parent, do you look for opportunities for your kids to engage with kids from other backgrounds and economic statuses? Do you seek out these opportunities yourself?

Readers should always feel free to post discussion questions as well, since this blog is more about its readers and promoting a dialogue than it is about my limited thoughts.

I hope you will join the discussion. And thank you for reading!

For more information from Michael Sandel and his new book, click here to see a transcript from a live chat with the Daily Beast.

9 Comments

Filed under Income inequality

9 responses to “The Skyboxification of America: Michael Sandel on Market Moralism

  1. Pingback: Pineapples, The Limits of Privatization and Corporate Influence in Education | newsofthetimes

  2. Pingback: Is income inequality the tide that will sink all boats? | newsofthetimes

  3. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to
    exploring your web page yet again.

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you
    could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  5. My relatives all the time say that I am killing
    my time here at net, however I know I am getting know-how
    everyday by reading such nice content.

  6. Hi colleagues, its great piece of writing concerning educationand entirely explained,
    keep it up all the time.

  7. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  8. Don’t brush your hair or put too much tension on it while it is still wet.
    The cosmetic effect lasts longer for about a month but the treatment is
    painful. It is non-toxic and the most widely used variation of camphor oil.

  9. Hi there, this weekend is nice for me, as this moment i am reading this great educational article here at my home.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

