Is There Room at the Inn? The Eternal Quest for the Perfect Getaway

It’s Memorial Day weekend, which for many people signals the beginning of the Summer. And for many people, summer is all about vacations.

With that in mind, I thought I would highlight a useful story in this week’s New York Times that offers ideas for how to find unique lodging both inside and outside the United States.

Sites listed in the article include:

Boutique Homes.com

Design Hotels.com

Design Tripper.com

Mr. and Mrs. Smith.com

Unique Home Stays.com

Welcome Beyond.com

The article explains that these sites, with lodging options ranging from eclectic to luxurious, help eliminate the need to navigate the frequently overwhelming list of properties offered on sites like VRBO.

I have not used any of these websites yet, but welcome the idea of a more targeted list of properties. I am especially interested in the international options, as I suffer from an extreme form of wanderlust.

What do you think? Have you used any of these websites to book travel? Which sites work best for you? Are there any that are not on this list that should be added? And what resources do you use to find hidden gems when you travel?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!  

15 Comments

Filed under International, travel

15 responses to “Is There Room at the Inn? The Eternal Quest for the Perfect Getaway

  1. I’ve clicked on 2 sites and I’ve said ..”OMG!” at least 10 times. I will be taking a peek at the rest as soon as I catch my breath. I am always looking for sites likes these, so this was very helpful for me. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Happy Memorial Day Weekend! In Canada we had a long weekend last weekend (Victoria Day Weekend) – wish I could be American for a couple of days 😉 I like to travel in the winter to somewhere tropical to get a break from the ‘Great White North’s’ icy cold!

    • Thanks for the comment! If it makes you feel any better, I wish I was Canadian the rest of the year. 🙂 It is amazing what one extra day of weekend does to the energy levels in this country. You can feel the excitement all around. Thanks so much for reading and for your comment!! BTW – I live in Colorado, and I hear you on escaping the winter white stuuf, but there sure is a beauty to that as well, don’t you agree?

      • well yes…if it’s those big fat flakes that happen on milder days, but when it’s it’s minus 45 with the windchill and your lungs hurt because the air is so cold and you had to pee 20 minutes ago but now you can’t feel it because it’s frozen in your bladder – NO 😉

        • Ah yes, we are lucky not to have too many of those days. Snow here usually melts by noon. But I love a clear sunny day on snow-capped mountains. Thanks again for your comments!!

  3. introvertedblogger

    I’m Australian, so not those sites, but we do use sites to check out new places and find the best deals. Some are really great resources.

  4. Thanks or dropping by my blog and for the follow. Have a great week

  5. Pingback: Running of the Bulls: Would You Do it? | newsofthetimes

  6. Pingback: On the Road: Opportunities for Personal Growth through Solo Travel | newsofthetimes

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

