I won!! They DO love me!!

As a newbie blogger, I am truly honored and humbled by being nominated for the Sunshine Award by fellow blogger jensinewall, whose blog posts have made me laugh out loud and inspired me to think about something in a new way. I hope you will check out her blog when you have a moment.

Three months ago, I didn’t even understand what a blog was and I had no idea how to actually follow a blog if I happened to find one I thought was interesting. Since I started newsofthetimes.org, I feel like I have entered an alternate universe, where life is as it should be.

The blogging universe is such a supportive place, full of incredibly talented people, who encourage each other to create and explore. I have been truly touched by the people that I have met in a few short months and cannot express my appreciation enough for jensinewall and all of the other people who have inspired and encouraged my work.

There are a few rules to accepting this award:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself.
  • Nominate other fabulous bloggers.
  • Link your nominees to this post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they      have been nominated.
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you.

What is a favorite childhood memory? Most of my favorite childhood memories revolve around my summer camp, Camp Conowingo, which I attended all summer, every summer from age 6 until I was 14 or 15. We slept in platform tents, roasted marshmallows and sang songs around a campfire, swam, hiked, biked and canoed. I am sure that this experience is what attracted me to Colorado and made me who I am today.

What is a real fear you have? I am afraid of getting too consumed in my work and neglecting the people who are most important to me.

How would you describe yourself? Spontaneous, adventurous, outdoorsy, animated, hopefully funny and sometimes thoughtful.  Up for just about anything, at least once!

What Countries have you lived in? Just the US, but I have travelled a lot and aspire to live abroad someday – just about anywhere!

What is your style? Outdoor comfort – REI chic!

What is your favorite breakfast food? Sunrise sandwich at the South Side Walnut Café in Boulder, CO

What are some of your hobbies? Biking, photography, camping, hiking, triathlons, reading, watching movies

If you could tell people anything, what would be the most important thing to say? Get involved in your life and the world around you. The world needs your unique set of knowledge, experience and wisdom.

What is one of your passions? Purses…and politics

What is the one truth you have learned? No matter how bad things get, the sun will always rise eventually.

Ten blogs that inspire me:

Hughcurtler: Very thoughtful commentary on the issues of the day by a retired philosophy Professor whose passion for improving the education system is really inspiring

Ecopolitical Economics: Great insight into the economy and politics

Mindful Stew: Thought-provoking posts that make me think

The Solipsistic Me: A social justice warrior, especial for the LGBTQ community

Musings of an Old Fart: Very thoughtful musings on important topics of the day

For the Love of Books: Has reignited my passion for reading and books

Where’s my Backpack?: Fun photo challenges and inspiring photography

Seapunk2: Beautiful writer and a quick wit

Raising the Curtain: Funny, insightful and well written with a good dose of imagery

Talk to Diana: Thoughtful and funny at the same time – that’s a skill!

If you can believe it, as I was writing this, For the Love of Books nominated me for a versatile blogger award! So stay tuned for that acceptance speech in the next week.

Thanks again to jensinewall for the kudos! I am truly honored.

43 Comments

Filed under Awards

43 responses to “I won!! They DO love me!!

  1. Alison Warner

    Kudos to you! So proud of you for doing what you love and knocking it out of the park while doing it. I have always admired you for your spirit and your passion for life. Keep up the good work!

    • Ali, you’re the best! THANKS so much!! You are inspiring me with your courage and drive – I can’t wait to see where Prepped to Organize goes! Thanks again, my dear. I really appreciate the support.

  2. I couldn’t be happier for you! This is well deserved. Keep up the great work!

  3. Congratulations!! Well-deserved kudos to you!

  4. congratulations and thank you for your encouragement on my blog 🙂

  5. Congrats, newsofthetimes, and thanks so much for the shoutout about Where’s my backpack? 🙂 xxx Ailsa

  6. Congratulations and thanks so much for paying the blog love forward. Three months ago I knew nothing as well, look how far we have come :). Happy to be a follower.

  7. Congrats on your success! I admire your blog and am going to check out some of the others you enjoy as well.

  8. What do I think? (mirroring your question ever so playfully…) I think this is really nice for you and your exuberance shines through! (pun intended) And, if I can pull it off, I’m going to have a good time with the rules and requirements for acceptance in my post. Being a very new blogger, I don’t have all the tools down to a science, yet… There’s where I need a flash of luck! Thanks very much, I appreciate your thoughtful nomination.

    • I’m so glad you’re pleased! I have really enjoyed your blog. And I would have to say that you seem to have this thing down at least as well as I do. I just learned how to add pictures and you have some stunning ones on your blog! Looking forward to checking out tje blogs that have caught your interest. Thanks for all the support!

      • Actually, I’m struggling with the links thing…. I have a great idea for accepting the award, but the tech stuff… I’m dying here… 😛

        • K. Ready to hear how easy it is? You just add a “hyperlink.” In word, you highlight wwhat you want to link and then right click with yyour mouse. Then insert the web assress into the box that opens. If you do it in wordpress, pretty much the saame thing but there is a little link logo above the post you are writing. Again, just paste the address where it asks you to. Hope this helps a littl. Good luck – this skill will change your life. 🙂

  9. Great accomplishment! I too am new to this whole thing and have been meandering around the web, trying to figure this whole thing out. Your breakfast selection put a smile on my face having live in Denver for several years – Boulder is such a beautiful area.

  10. A (somewhat belated) congratulations! And thank you 🙂

    • Thanks! And you’re welcome!! 🙂 You should check out my list – I think there are aat least a few bloggers, especially the first four or five that you would find interesting and related to your’s. Keep up the great work!! Thanks for reading and commenting!!!

  11. Pingback: Sunshine Award! | hughcurtler

  12. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  13. thanks for visiting my place — and congratulations on your award! I’ll be back to visit more — looks like an interesting place to stay awhile! 🙂

  14. Congratulations! Much deserved! (And Camp Conowingo!? Wow, that is a great name for a camp :))
    anne

  15. Congrats on your award! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for following!! I really appreciate it.

  16. CONGRATULATIONS! Thank you for visiting my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  17. Congrats on the lovely award. “Purses and politics” ……. from the sublime to the ridiculous. 😉

  18. Pingback: Award Nomination: The Sunshine Award « Lila's Twist

  19. Congratulations! Well deserved!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

