Two More Awards – Such a Bounty of Appreciation!

This past week, I received two more awards for newsofthetimes.org!!! I am so thrilled, in a world with so many creative bloggers, writers and photographers, that anyone would take the time to recognize my work. It is truly an honor and a privilege.

I am overwhelmed with the kindness and encouragement I have received from this creative and supportive community. So, THANK YOU!

First, a little delayed, I would like to thank FortheLoveofBooks, who nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I hope that all of you took a moment to visit his blog, since he was on the list of blogs that I nominated for the Sunshine Award this past weekend. If you can believe it, Life With the Top Down also nominated me for this award. I am so honored and can’t wait to check out the list of fellow nominees chosen by these creative individuals!

Rules for The Versatile Blogger Award

    • If you’re nominated, you’ve been awarded The Versatile Blogger Award.
    • Thank the person who gave you this award.
    • Include a link to their blog.

    Select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.

Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.

Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

So, let me start with the really fun part – naming 15 bloggers whose work I admire.

Some blogs that have really inspired me lately are:

Salty Political Musings: Good insights into all things political

Postcard Intellect: Absolutely stunning photography and great adventures

Waiting for the Karma Truck: Thoughtful, interesting and funny commentary on work, life and everything in between

Hungry Lindsay: Book and movie reviews with a healthy dose of humor

Where’s My Backpack: Fantastic photos and fun photo challenges with lots of participation from a bunch of great blogs

The Jotter’s Joint: Well written, visually appealing and funny

The View Outside: Currently hosting interesting guest blogs where readers get to see the people behind the blogs!

Orange Spice Drop: Funny with great colors and visuals

The Bookshelf of Emily J.: Great book reviews and interesting choices of books

Policy Thinkshop: Encourages us to “Think Together,” frequently link to the same news stories that I write about

Politics from the Eyes of an Ebony Mom: Always thought provoking and informative

Beyond PR: Helpful tips for working in the world of public relations and writing

Thinking the Unthinkable: This blog is just getting started, but the author is thoughtful and thorough in his analyses

Craves Adventure: This blog just exudes fun and adventure, and makes you think at the same time!

Talk to Diana: Always good for a giggle and has been very supportive of my work

Seven things about myself:

1.)    I am right on the line between introvert and extrovert, although most people think I am an extrovert. Too much time with people or too much time away from people and I get cranky.

2.)    I have always wanted to volunteer for the Peace Corps.

3.)    I have done 3 marathons and two 500 mile + bike rides and played sports throughout high school and college, but now I am pretty lazy.

4.)    Nothing makes me happier than a Saturday morning walk with my pup.

5.)    I love mashed potatoes. It is almost weird how much.

6.)    I am torn between wanting to live closer to my family and wanting to live near mountains.

7.)    I frequently wish I had studied Spanish instead of Russian in college. Especially since my in-laws only speak Spanish.

I was also nominated for the Readers Appreciation Award by C’est La Vie! Thanks so much for the nomination C’est La Vie! With a tag line like “Learning to accept whatever curve ball life throws at you,” how can you NOT check it out?

The rules for the Readers Appreciation Award:

  • List something you’ve been up to lately.
  • Nominate 6 other blogs.

Six blogs that I find interesting:

Management and Career: Interesting commentary and advice on how to survive and thrive in the professional world

Writing More Than a Few Words: A fun blog with great visuals and interesting fashion tips and advice

A New Thing Every Day: This has been a fun blog to follow. I especially loved her letter to her mayor about the importance of libraries.

Sweetandweak: This blog makes me laugh out loud

Sticky Notes and Quotes: What can I say? I’m a sucker for a good quote!

Truth and Cake: Thoughtful and fun to read

And finally, something I have been up to: My husband and I are trying to work out the details to go on a summer vacation – maybe Spain. If so, this may turn into a travel and photo blog for about a week. 🙂

Thanks again to FortheLoveofBooks, Life With the Top Down and C’est La Vie for the recognition and for all your support since I started this journey.

27 Comments

Filed under Awards

27 responses to “Two More Awards – Such a Bounty of Appreciation!

  1. Congratulations! I will have to check out some of the blogs you think worth reading.

  2. I think you are so deserving of these awards and admire your dedication to doing everything required when accepting them. Also, I love your heart, you’re a good mensch 🙂

    • Thank you!!!! I really appreciate your compliment. I think I am just a rules follower. But it is actually fun to help publicize awesome newbie blogs like yours!!! Thanks so much for all your support!

  3. Congratulations on both awards!

    I imagine it’s difficult to learn, but I’ve always thought Russian is a beautiful language! I took Spanish in high school, but very little stuck with me — I’m now leaning more towards German.

  4. Reading your blog has risen to “Hobnobbing” status with 3 nominations! Now that you’re all famous are you going to remain lazy and eat mash potatoes like the rest of us common folk? I sure hope so…CONGRATS…enjoy your fame!

  5. Congrats again Newsofthetimes! You deserve these awards! By the way, you will be happy to hear that Spanish is very easy to learn!

  6. Congratulations NOTT! It certainly is a wonderfully supportive community, here.

  7. Congratulations for these two well-deserved awards..I love your posts! I am really surprised and honored that you nominated me – thank you so very much! I will follow the rules to the letter…:-)

  8. Great news and congratulations on your success!! Keep it going 🙂

  9. Congratulations on your awards and thanks for the nomination. Thanks also for the other blog suggestions, I look forward to checking them out.

    • Thanks so much! I was almost afraid to nominate you because I am sure you have gotten lots because your blog is absolutely hilarious, but I thought, what the heck! I can still send a little blog love your way. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by and for making me laugh out loud on a consistent basis!

      • You are too kind. I have gotten lucky a few times but anytime someone enjoys the blog enough to share it with someone else, it means a ton. Thanks for reading and laughing and letting me know that my feeble attempts at humor get lucky sometimes.

  10. Congratulations!!!!!!! 🙂

    And thank you sooooo much! 🙂

    Xx

  11. This week’s travel challenge is a tricky one, but I bet you’re up to it! xxx Ailsa http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/06/01/rhythm/

  12. Pingback: A Celebration! Party Party :) | The View Outside

  13. I like this post! Thanks for all the links to great blogs! I’ll check them out.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

