Nuns on the Bus: Roman Catholic Nuns Hit the Road to Highlight Community Work of their Sisters

Photo courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

An article in the New York Times about a group of Roman Catholic nuns who have planned a multi-state bus trip to highlight the critical work that nuns do on a daily basis to help the poor brought a smile to my face.

In light of the criticisms from Rome, it is no surprise to me that this group of inspiring women has chosen to hit the road to highlight the life-saving work of nuns across the country, who help feed the hungry and provide healthcare to the poor every day.

While I am not religious, it seems to me that nuns have kept their focus on one of the most fundamental tenants of Christianity, which is helping the poorest among us.

Meanwhile, as nuns have maintained this focus, working every day with people in need, the organized church has embroiled itself in scandal and political controversy over abortion and contraception.

I would suggest that the Catholic Church follow the lead of these courageous women and consider returning to work that inspires its followers, rather than work that shames, alienates and judges its most devoted members.

As I have blogged about before, I think the future of the Catholic Church may depend on this.

What do you think? Are there any organizations run by Catholic nuns in your community? What type of work are these women doing? What do you think about the criticism of the nuns by Rome? How do you see this impacting membership in the Catholic Church?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks so much for reading!

19 Comments

Filed under Education, Income inequality, Poverty, Religion, Women

19 responses to “Nuns on the Bus: Roman Catholic Nuns Hit the Road to Highlight Community Work of their Sisters

  1. I love this title – “Nuns on the Bus.” Truth be told, the only ones who can save the Catholic religion from their death spiral are the nuns. Hopefully, The Vatican will reach that conclusion before it is too late.

    • Thanks! I have fun with my titles, can you tell? I couldn’t agree more. My Aunt was a nun and a community organizer when she was in the convent and I have known many inspiring nuns over the years. I agree – they are the Catholic church’s only hope with a large segment of the population. Thanks for reading and for your comment!

  2. It’s a faint hope, at bet. But a fun blog!

  3. I was raised Roman Catholic (pagan now) and during my childhood I can recall a nun who was like a favorite Aunt — just a lovely, compassionate and giving woman. I agree that much of the future for Catholicism will rest on the nuns and women in the church. The “heart” of the church. When I visited Rome I visited the Vatican and in the square took a picture of nuns eating pizza….wish I could find that picture lol.

  4. I’m not Catholic, but I share your opinion that the Catholic church could be greatly reinvigorated if women had a much stronger role in the church.

  5. I was raised Roman Catholic and fan like lightening. The Vatican has never appreciated the value of nuns. Their prejudice funds deep. I always thought it was bizarre that the Priests seemed to be held at a higher status, yet they did much less in the sense of teaching or community work. I guess standing on an alter once a week is more important. There really aren’t many nuns left today in my community, but I’m glad to know that this group found each other to continue their good work.

  6. While I’m not a Catholic, or particularly religious, I deeply admire the work nuns do and not just their charity work. The first nuns in our community, The Grey Nuns from Montreal, were handpicked by Bishop Provencher for their multiple skills. They arrived at the Red River settlement in 1844 and are responsible for all our cultural endeavors today. Provencher made sure that all the arts – music, visual arts, & the literary arts – were represented in the women he selected. Among them, there were also Mathematicians, Architects, and Scientists. Our city owes a lot to Les Seours Grises and Bishop Provencher for providing the background of a great city. (Not that I’m biased or anything! lol) 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

