Finally Time to Trade in the Car: NPR’s Car Talk Comes to an End

Photo courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The New York Times reported today that, after 35 years of broadcasting episodes of Car Talk, the hilarious Magliozzi brothers will be retiring.

Just writing about Car Talk makes me smile. For years, these brothers have made millions of people laugh, as they diagnose car problems based on owners’ descriptions of the issue. These descriptions frequently include attempts to reproduce the sounds that the car is making, which is usually highly comical in and of itself.

But these funny men also know cars. The program is a great mix of education and hilarity. I have missed many of their shows and will likely be able to listen to rebroadcasts for years. But this announcement does feel a bit like the end of an era.

The success of this particular program is amazing to me in some ways. Who would guess that a show about auto repair would capture the hearts and minds of millions of listeners?

I am sure that some of the success comes from the simple fact that it seemed as if the brothers were having an absolute blast every minute, making themselves laugh at least as much as they were making us laugh. Perhaps that is the key to success – do what you love and enjoy every minute of it.

What do you think? Have you listened to the Car Talk program? Does this program bring back any memories for you? What do you think has led to the success of this program? Are there other NPR programs that you enjoy as much? What was your favorite part of the program?

12 Comments

Filed under comedy, Culture

12 responses to “Finally Time to Trade in the Car: NPR’s Car Talk Comes to an End

  1. I’ve never seen this show but I have entertained many a mechanic with the sounds I make when trying to explain what’s wrong with my car! Laughter is good medicine 🙂

  2. “Do what you love…” Excellent advice from a wise woman!

    • Thanks! I am always interested in that advice though. I love my work, but there are always days that are exhausting and days that I don’t love. I guess that is true for everyone, right?

  3. I never listened to that show…probably because I mostly listen to public radio, and that’s only when I am driving. Maybe it was on NPR but I somehow missed it. It seemed to have been a show that could have saved me a ton of money from time to time. Usually when I went to get my car repaired it was to late because more problems had began to add on to the original problem. But I’m getting better in my older years.

    • It is on NPR, but on the weekend. I think it is on Sunday mornings here. It is funny and you are right – it could save people money sometimes. Check it out sometime when it is on inn your area!

  4. I’ve heard the show a couple of times when I had to drive in to work on a Sunday. I know nothing about cars, nor do I want to, but I was enthralled and entertained. After the show, I thought “why the heck did I just listen to a show about cars and how to fix ’em?” Cause it was funny. That’s why. 🙂

  5. I used to listen to them every week. Will be sad to see them go!

  6. I was really sad to hear that Car Talk is coming to an end. I spent many a weekend driving home from skiing with my mom and brother, listening to Car Talk. At least Prairie Home Companion is still on.

    • Me too! And I LOVE Prairie Home Companion. Reminds me of being a kid and makes me think of my family. We went to see a live recording in NY with the family a few years ago. So great! Thanks for your comment!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

