The Illuminating Blogger Award and Some Illuminating Quotes from the Alchemist

Earlier this week, In Blue kindly nominated me for the Illuminating Blogger Award. I love the Illuminating Blogger image, with a single candle flame burning brightly. Personally, when I stare at a candle for long enough, I find that I am usually illuminated in some way.

Thank you so much to In Blue for the nomination. If you have not checked out her blog yet, please do so. It is a true feast for the eyes and the soul.

The rules for this award are simple. I just need to tell one random thing about myself. One random thing that seems somewhat related to the Illuminating Blogger Award is that Paulo Coelho’s, The Alchemist, is the first and only book I have ever read in one sitting. Many years ago, I read the first few pages of the book and realized I had found a jewel. I turned off my phone, sat on the floor and read straight through, start to finish.

Copyright JC Politi Photography

I thought I would share some of my favorite quotes from this special book (which sits dog-eared and full of underlines on my bookshelf):

Everyone seems to have a clear idea about how other people should live their lives, but none about his or her own.

At a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us, and our lives become controlled by fate – that ‘s the world’s greatest lie.

[A Personal Legend is] what you have always wanted to accomplish. Everyone, when they are young, knows what their Personal Legend is. At that point in their lives, everything is clear and everything is possible. They are not afraid to dream, and to yearn for everything they would like to see happen to them in their lives. But, as time passes, a mysterious force begins to convince them that it will be impossible for them to realize their Personal Legend.

When a person really wants something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dream.

When each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives every day that the sun rises.

The secret of happiness is to see all the marvels of the world, and never forget the drops of oil on the spoon.

We have to take advantage when luck is on our side, and do as much to help it as it’s doing to help us. It’s called the principle of favorability. Or beginner’s luck.

Making a decision is only the beginning of things. When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him to places he never dreamed of when he first made the decision.

He had loved her before he even knew she existed.

Before a dream is realized, the Soul of the World tests everything that was learned along the way…That’s the point at which most people give up. It’s the point at which, as we say in the language of the desert, one dies of thirst, just when the palm trees have appeared on the horizon.

There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.

That’s what alchemists do. They show that, when we strive to be better than we are, everything around us becomes better too.

What do you think? What is your Personal Legend? What books have you read in one sitting? What books do you return to again and again to read what you have underlined or dog-eared?

I would also like to pass this award along to some illuminating blogs. I have recently found most of these and have truly enjoyed their work. I hope you will take a moment to visit each of them:

Blogging on the Bright Side

Writing Your Destiny

Real Women’s Health

Make the World Better

The Quiet One in the Corner

Beyond PR

Truth Warrior

Postcard Intellect

Thank you again to In Blue for the nomination. I am truly honored. And thank you all for reading.

28 Comments

Filed under Awards, Books, Culture, International, Peace, Photos, Poetry, travel

28 responses to “The Illuminating Blogger Award and Some Illuminating Quotes from the Alchemist

  1. Congrats! The Alchmist…oh dear lord! My daughter had to read this in 10th grade. The crying, screaming and kicking I endured getting her through that journey. At 15 this was not an easy read…but she/we did it and in the end she “got it” and she will never forget it! I am going to share the fact that you read it in one sitting….I’m sure you’ll be able to feel her eyes rolling.
    The book I turn to is The Four Agreements and the 5th Agreement Book. In one sitting “A Million Little Pieces” Personal Legend is to publicly speak with the intensity that could make a difference. I am in awe of people who have that ability. My legend was silenced by fear, but I’m working on it now.
    This was awesome News…just awesome!

    • How funny!!! I was 26 when I read it, so the time was probably a little more right for me than for your daughter. I love your personal legend. And that is something you can really do, which is exciting! I always thought my personal legend was peace corps or something similar, but it hasn’t happened yet. Thanks for your comment!!!

  2. Your blog really does illuminate and makes people think about a host of topics provocatively. Well deserved kudos to you!!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations to you. This is a well deserved award.

  4. the curtain raiser

    Congratulations NOFFTY. Those quotes are indeed illuminating. The Alchemist sounds like a must read, although can’t promise it will be in one sitting. Thanks for illuminating my computer screen with your blog.

    • Thanks so much!!! I have appreciated all your support and thoughtful comments. You will love the Alchemist, or at least I hope you will. It is a short, but powerful read. Thanks again for all the support!

  5. Congratulations. You have given me a new book to read. Many thanks. I love the quotes you pulled. Being a golf fan, our friend Hugh will like this quote you reminded me of. Gary Player, a golf legend from South Africa, who had to compete against Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and Lee Trevino, etc., once said “The more I practice, the luckier I get.” Best wishes as always. You are the best.

  6. Congratulations, you definitely deserve this award. This post about the Alchemist is lovely too. It’s one of my favorite books that I like to return to every so often. And also thank you so much for bestowing this award upon me as well. I like the image of the candle too! 🙂

    • I’m glad you liked it. I guess anyone who is not familiar with the book might think the sheep is a nonsequitor, but I bet youunderstand her relevance and importance! 🙂 Thanks for your thoughtful posts and keep up the great work!

  7. Congratulations. I look forward to exploring the blogs you recommend.

  8. Pingback: Do You Accept Blogger Awards? | Writing Your Destiny

  9. Congrats on the well-deserved award! You always post the most interesting news tidbits and pose some thought-provoking questions.

    The Alchemist sounds like a book my ‘glass-half-empty’ son should read. 🙂

  10. Congratulations on your awards and I’ve been enjoying reading your posts on women and the power dynamic; a huge and complex subject… Keep up the dialogue! 🙂 I love the Alchemist too.

  11. Pingback: Travel Photo of the Year Contest and the Booker Award | newsofthetimes

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

