Love is All Around

One of many signs this morning.
Copyright JC Politi Photography

In light of the horrific events in Colorado on Friday, I thought I would dedicate today’s post to love.

I just finished my first sprint triathlon of the summer (1/4 mile swim, 17+ mile bike and 3.1 mile run!!) and all I could think about this morning as I looked around me was love.

I have only done all-womens triathlons. Every event I have done, I have left inspired by the women of all ages, shapes and sizes who are putting themselves through something physically challenging just to know they can do it. The support the women show each other is truly inspiring.

But what has really touched me in these events is the men who come to support the women in their lives. They come with signs, with advice, with music and with cameras. And they come with love and support. I can’t explain what this means to the women racing.

I do triathlons for many reasons, but one of the reasons is to have something that is all my own. Something that enables me to feel like I really accomplished something I set my mind to. The fact that the men at these races support their partners who have similar goals warms my heart.

And my sweet husband is one of them, so I thank him for that.

In the immortal words of the movie Love, Actually:

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion… love actually is all around.

A few other things that inspired me to write this post:

I came across a post yesterday called Heartwarming Quotes from Children About Love. Some adults asked the kids to tell them what love meant to them. Some of my favorites:

When you love somebody, your eyelashes go up and down and little stars come out of you.” Karen – age 7

“Love is when you kiss all the time. Then when you get tired of kissing, you still want to be together and you talk more. My Mommy and Daddy are like that. They look gross when they kiss.” Emily – age 8

“Love is when a girl puts on perfume and a boy puts on shaving cologne and they go out and smell each other.” Karl – age 5

You really shouldn’t say ‘I love you’ unless you mean it. But if you mean it, you should say it a lot. People forget.” Jessica – age 8

And finally, my post on love would not be complete without including this wonderful video, which to me is just a picture of love around the world. Thank you to Mimi from Waiting for the Karma Truck for this one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pwe-pA6TaZk&feature=player_detailpage

What do you think? What are some of your favorite movies about love? Or poems? Or quotes? What is something simple that makes you realize that love is all around?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading.

41 Comments

Filed under Culture, Fitness, Love, Parenting, Relationships, social pressures, Women

41 responses to “Love is All Around

  1. This is so beautiful! You are right about the men who support their loved ones, which is probably one of the reasons they stay motivated to reach that finish line. The video is wonderful and surely brings a smile to all who watch it! z

  2. With all of the tragedies we read about, and that (sadly) touch us directly, I am always inspired and encouraged by the outpouring of good-will that follows. It may appear to be short-lived because media reporting is short-lived. It is not. I see the balance tipping toward loving and caring, as evidenced by the many petitions to right wrongs, by the moneys collected to help those down in their luck, by the volunteers in our communities, by the activism on our planet. It is Love, not hate, that makes our wold go ’round!

    • You are so right about that. You can feel a softening of our natures when confronted by something like this. Maybe because of a reminder that there are more important things in life than keeping up with the Joneses. Thanks so much for the comment!

  3. You are absolutely right: love and care don’t get the attention from the media. Those kinds of things don’t attract the large audiences. It’s the nasty stuff, the death and destruction that gets the attention of the audience and sells the sponsor’s products. Dante once said is was almost too easy writing the Inferno. The hard part of the Commodia was the Paradiso! Even Dante had trouble speaking about things of the heart that really matter.

    • So true. Wouldn’t it be nice to see CNN spend 5 minutes of a broadcast updating us on the troubles in the world and the rest of the time on acts of goodness and kindness instead of vice versa? I wonder what a difference that could make. Thanks for the comment!

  4. First, congratulations on your triathalon. Such a beautiful blog today. I might go have to rent Love,Actually again!
    I’ve been fortunate that my family has always been a great source of love for me my whole life. My mom, my kids and dogs and good friends remind me of how lucky I am, and make me want to be more of a source of love in the world. Fellow bloggers like you do as well!

  5. This is such a bright light in the shadow of ALL the darkness. Thank you for sharing and making me smile! I LOVE the quotes of the children, they are priceless along with the video.

  6. A lovely post! I agree love IS everywhere and it’s the strongest force in the world. 🙂

  7. Dear News,
    Way to Go!!!!!!!
    Love, Lis
    xoxooxx

  8. Congratulations on your triathalon. Beautiful post.

  9. “Love gives naught but itself and takes naught but from itself. Love possesses not nor would it be possessed; For love is sufficient unto love” – Kahlil Gibran.
    Beautiful post, thank you!

  10. “All you need is love,” sayeth John Lennon. Thanks for posting. And, you go girl with the Triathlons.

  11. So very sweet. Thanks for the reminder.

  12. This was such a lovely post!
    Love to me is a little girl who squeezes your arm as tight as she can and then trails kisses from your hand up to your shoulder. Because when you’re two, it doesn’t matter WHAT you’re kissing, as long as there are lots of kisses.

  13. Congrats on your tri! This post is awesome. Love is all around, it’s just sometimes our perspective gets off abit. When you’re thinking about it, you see it everywhere, but when you focus on the bad, you find it everywhere too.
    “Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.” Amen.

    • So true. Isn’t there a quote out there about “what you focus on grows” or something like that? I am going to choose to focus on love. 🙂 Thank you for reading and taking time to comment.

  14. thank you for the shout-out to colorado victims. there is an eerie air to say the least, but i can’t help but feel empowered to go out and make those changes in the world we all know NEED to happen. and it doesn’t have to be anything big… it can be the simplest things each day. like for example, showing love and compassion to all.

  15. This is a refreshing, heart-warming, LOVEly post!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

