Tunes Tuesday: You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one

Copyright JC Politi Photography

My Tunes Tuesday pick for today was simple. John Lennon’s “Imagine”, is meant to honor the Olympics where, every two years, nations from around the world come together to put on a glorious display of athleticism.

The Olympics are a beacon of hope. It gives me great hope that countries can set aside political differences and take time to celebrate top athletic talent, sending their most dedicated and passionate young athletes to compete as equals on the athletic field.

I am waxing poetic about the Olympics and I know that not everyone shares my view.

But it seems to me that when people around the world can finally see each other as people, regardless of race, class, gender, sexual orientation, national origin, or any of the other many things that define us, we will be able to come together to solve some of the world’s most complex problems.

We are not our nation’s politics. The Olympics is a great example of this simple fact.

What do you think? Do you think the Olympics have any lessons to teach us outside of the three weeks in which the athletes compete? What lessons do you see? Or do you think the Olympics are much ado about nothing?

Copyright JC Politi Photography

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

Imagine
By John Lennon

Imagine there’s no heaven, it’s easy if you try
No people below us, above it’s only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there’s no countries, it isn’t hard to do
No need to kill or die for and no religions too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

Imagine no possessions I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger a brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing for the world

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
Take my hand and join us
And the world will live, will live as one

If you liked this you might also like:

Tunes Tuesday: I Want to Write Like Bob Dylan

Tunes Tuesday: We Didn’t Start the Fire

Tunes Tuesday: The Boss and The River

 

33 Comments

Filed under Culture, International, Love, Music, Peace, Photography, Photos, Poetry, Politcs, Role of Government, travel, violence, War

33 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one

  1. So true! And when we can see beyond the politics, we see the magnificence of everyday humans doing ordinary things extraordinarily — and what a gift!

  2. I think if we can all be excited and happy for other people’s achievements, the world will be a far more harmonious place to live in.

  3. Beautiful sentiments! I wish I could see the world through your eyes. But my take on the Olympics is a bit different — blog forthcoming.

  4. Love Tuesday’s song pick…In principle I think the Olympics can show that there is unity in humanity, competition and striving for excellence. In practicality, I still get chills when I see someone I’m rooting for stand on the podium, but the hype, doping scandals, IOC investigations, etc have diminished my reaction to it..

    • Good point. It is very easy to get jaded. But I still find it more hopeful than most of our global interactions. Thanks so much for taking time to read and comment! I hope your week has started off well.

  5. The Olympics have been teaching lessons for decades…we’re slow learners…xoM

  6. I love that song too, Imagine. It’s true that, “we are not our nations politics”.

  7. Much todo about nothing – except in the case of the athletes themselves, good for them.
    M

  8. Jennifer, you are four for four in my book. You have picked four songwriters and songs that I truly love. The lyrics live beyond the music. “Imagine” is one of the greatest songs of all time in my book, by one of the greatest songwriters. Yet, when I think of this song, my thoughts carry me beyond the Olympics to what is happening in Syria and in other repressed countries. I also think of how people in our own country can ostracize and belittle others who do things differently, all in the name of religion. I am forever confused how we can allow people to operate assault weapons without restriction. The Olympics are brief respite from all of this stuff and do represent an ideal.Thanks for sharing “your songs.” Great post and concept.

    • Yay!!! I promise a curveball soon! 😉 I completely agree that this song and its concept goes well beyond the Olympics. Thanks so much for reading and for your thoughtful comment.

      • Thanks Jennifer. Hugh has a good post today on “Counting Medals.” I like watching the Olympics for the competition, camaraderie and less mainstream sports, but I get a little jaded from the heightened Jingoism and win at all costs mindset. Thanks for letting me soapbox a little.

        • Very true. And another valid way of viewing at the Olympics. But I figure that this is our everyday ilfe and perspectives creeping in on the Olympics and that there is much more to be proud of when cheering on all the amazing athletes, regardless of their nation. I mean, who doesn’t love Hussein Bolt? And he’s not from the US. We appreciate top athletic achievements, as long as the competition is fair and clean. Just my thoughts. I certainly see the other side as well. Thanks for the comment!

  9. One of my favorites! I am a dreamer. The Olympic dreams I had as a child listening to the Anthem and watching the flag before every competition is probably why medal ceremonies strike me so much….I have been there in my mind.
    The Olympics give us a chance to dream, to imagine, what if.

  10. Great pick consider it’s in my top 3 of all times…thank you! Seeing all of the different countries, races & religions in unity speak volumes. My wish is that our eyes would be more open to notice we are indeed one.

  11. I know exactly what you mean .. a dreamer myself

  12. I never really thought about it but yeah…the Olympics transcends all the differences…..I like that.

  13. julieanne

    “We are not our nation’s politics.”.

    That sums it up for me. The Olympics are one of the few times that i feel more a part of a world than a country……which is odd, considering the whole “u.s.a., u.s.a!!” thing that can happen. But I love the stories of people living their dreams and I love that much of the world shares in the experience. Total sap about it:)

  14. Roly

    Reblogged this on THE ROLLING MAUL and commented:
    The drawing together of nations. Go and read the blog

  15. ‘Imagine’ is such a wonderful song and I think you have it right. The Olympics should represent those ideals to bring the world together. 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

