Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

Copyright JC Politi Photography

The WordPress photo challenge theme this week is Growth. When I think of recent growth in our household, my teenage pup, Limay, comes to mind. As anyone who has every raised a puppy can attest, he is not the only one who has grown in the process.

In the past year and a half, Limay has grown to understand that:

– It is impossible to catch a butterfly when you already have a stick in your mouth – believe me, he tried!

– Strollers are not the darth vaders of the park

– Squirrels are fast, but he still thinks he will get one one of these days

– The way to the heart really is through the stomach

During the same time period, I have grown to understand:

– The treats had better be good if I want to lure him away from something dead and/or particularly smelly

– Morning is the best time for cuddles

– Everything is better with toys

– There is always time for fun

What do you think? Have you raised a puppy or kitten? What lessons did you learn? Do you have any tips for people just starting this journey?

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

 

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you so much for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

61 Comments

Filed under Photography, Photos, Weekly Photo Challenge

61 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

  1. Great photos and beautiful owner and pup!

  2. what a beautiful dog and they do love you back so much … lots of hugs and cuddles I bet

  3. Aww beautiful photographs Jennifer! They remind me of when my one was a pup! Enjoy them while they’re small- they grow up so fast! Cannot believe my one is 8 years old now :). Ohh and I wanted to tell you that I finished Reading Lolita in Tehran! It was a wonderful book :).

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Growth | Just Snaps

  5. Such beautiful photos…Limay is such a cutie! What is the meaning behind her name?
    What I learned from my Chester is …always show the ones you love how much you love them each day. When I come home from work Chester acts as if I just got done serving a tour in Iraq and he doesn’t ask “what’s for dinner?” Gotta love the fur!

  6. Fun – love your “lessons learned!” Beautiful dog! 🙂

  7. He is adorable! Dogs teach us well.

  8. We are raising a 2 year old female rat terrier and I recognize many of the things on your list with her LOL! Wouldn’t change a thing. Your teen is SO HANDSOME! Love white labs! 🙂

    • Thank you!! He’s actually a mix and I think he will have that puppy look his whole life! Good luck with your teen!! 2 is just around the corner. 😉 Thanks so much for the comment!

  9. Roxy Fearless

    Limay is a sweetheart. I wish he could meet my 1.5 yr old lab Kody. They would have a ball. Kody has been my first dog so I’ve learned a lot. What I appreciate most is simply the unconditional love. It is such a great reminder at the end of the day that I can forgot all the crazy things happening at work and really make a difference to someone by just simply throw a ball. 😉

    • I wish they could be best buds too! You need to send me a picture! He sounds like he is double Limay’s size. Thanks so much for the comment. I would have replied last night but I was at B-man’s 40th bday party! Miss you!!! Go throw the ball with your big cutie-pie!!

  10. what a gorgeous animal…reminds me of Marley

  11. what a gorgeous dog!! and great pics too. I’ve raised both puppies and kittens. I started life as a “dog person” then met my husband and he turned me into a “cat person”!! I still love dogs but I sure appreciate that cats always come potty trained. I do not like potty training puppies. at. all. 😀 thanks for following my blog. I’ll have to take a look around yours soon.

  12. Handsome Lab, and I love his name!

  13. Among the dogs we have owned have been two yellow labs and a golden retriever. Great pictures. One of my two dogs (still a lot of puppy for a 15 month old) is a yellow lab, border collie mix. He chases butterflies, dragonflies and is the first dog to really watch TV. If there is a ball on the screen, he jumps up and will get very close to the TV. Thanks for the pictures.

    • Limay watches TV too!!! If there is any sort of animal, including horses, the Geico gecko, etc. he runs up to the screen and cries. I watched Beethoven and he was a blubbering mess. Then he comes for cuddles. It is hilarious! Good to know you are raising a fun ball of fur too. Lab collie sounds like an amazing mix. I love mixes and the way the mixes influence their personalities. Thanks for the comment, OF!

  14. Awwwh, your puppy is adorable! I love labs. I adopted my first animal in December, an 8 month old maine coon. She’s adorable and sweet, too, but someone needs to teach her how to purr. I probably would have shared pictures if I had realized that was this week’s contest.

  15. Great pics…they are all so cute! 🙂

  16. Dear Jenni,
    WOW!!!! Did you SEE how many LIKES you got on this?!
    O girl. It’s the big time now.
    I seriously LOVE having you as a friend. You know how to make everyone smile.
    🙂
    Love, Lis!!!
    xoxooxox

  17. Pets certainly have a way of worming their way into your hearts when you least expect it. Hubby was always very cool towards our kitten when we first got him but they now cuddle in his recliner! 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

