Tunes Tuesday and Canon in the National Parks: Kodachrome

A fellow student
Copyright JC Politi Photography

I wrote a few weeks ago about the Canon in the National Parks free classes. I went to one of the classes yesterday and am still glowing from the experience. I learned enough to take my camera off the automatic mode and that is saying a lot!

I learned how to focus on an object and blur the background and how to capture things in motion or to show the motion and how to adjust the exposure of a picture.

Background not blurred
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Background blurred – you have no idea how exciting this is for a newby photographer!
Copyright JC Politi Photography

I should mention that I invested in a new camera, which I could not be more excited about. It is a new technology called mirrorless SLR and it has all the functionality of a digital SLR, but for a fraction of the weight. I got a Sony nex7, but most of the major camera manufacturers make these cameras now. I understand Canon is coming out with one in the Fall.

This new type of camera has gotten some great write-ups in photography magazines and blogs and it is really worth checking out if you are in the market for a new camera.

But back to the class. We met at the visitor’s center outside Rocky Mountain National Park so we didn’t even have to pay an entry fee to the park. People borrowed Canon equipment, although I was too excited about my new camera to use their equipment. They divided us into beginners and intermediate/advanced.

I took the beginner class, but think I will try to get back next weekend for the intermediate course.

What a wonderful opportunity for people just getting into photography or even for those who have a better grasp of the technological aspects of the art.

I really encourage anyone who can make it to one of these sessions, to do so. It is a priceless two hours and is absolutely free.

This leads me to a Tunes Tuesday pick that always has me singing along. Today’s Tunes Tuesday pick is Kodachrome by Paul Simon.

My favorite photo of the day
Copyright JC Politi Photography

What do you think? Are there any things that you would like to take a class to learn? Do you know of any affordable options for people to expand their skills in a particular area? If you are a photographer, do you have an opinion on mirrorless cameras versus DSLRs? And do you have any other ideas for affordable ways to build photography skills?

Kodachrome    

When I think back
On all the crap I learned in high school
It’s a wonder
I can think at all
And though my lack of education
Hasn’t hurt me none
I can read the writing on the wall

Kodachrome
You give us those nice bright colors
You give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

If you took all the girls I knew
When I was single
And brought them all together for one night
I know they’d never match
My sweet imagination
And everything looks worse in black and white

Kodachrome
You give us those nice bright colors
You give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
(Leave your boy so far from home)
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks so much for reading!

43 Comments

Filed under Education, Music, Photography, Photos, Uncategorized

43 responses to “Tunes Tuesday and Canon in the National Parks: Kodachrome

  1. My word! Your photos are going to even better!! Have fun, Jeni!! 🙂

  2. Oh now I’m going to be singing that song all day long! Lovely pictures too. I make a point in learning something big new every year and I’m always in school of some sort. I can’t imagine any other way. I tried Russian a few years ago and I’d like to take another shot at it before traveling there. The list is long though so I’m planning to live to 150 : )

  3. Before I got to the video I was singing the song with just the lyrics lol. This song was popular with my friends and I when we were stationed in Germany. We were rabid photographers and not just point and shoot cameras…I actually use to know how to use a light meter lol. As you get more edumacated (grin) POST THOSE PICS! Always love to see pictures.

    • You know I will! It is so much easier now with digital photography to learn because you can just play around and see what the impact of a small change is immediately. I don’t know what took me so long to go off the auto program! Thanks so much for your support. It means a lot!

  4. Congrats on the new Sony – I also shoot mirrorless – Olympus OM-D. Love the compactness. If I remember correctly from my college Photo classes, Kodachrome was for vivid reds and bright colors, Ectachrome was for lush green landscapes. The classes sound like a good way to get yourself out of auto mode.

    • You know more than me, but give me a few weeks to catch up! 😉 I am madly in love with the camera. I have had advanced point and shoots that were heavier. I couldn’t be more delighted. But now Ihave to invest in a few lenses. Baby steps!! Thanks so much for reading and for your comment!

  5. I am so glad for you!! Photography is one of my favorite things, good for my soul. I would love to take that class…it sounds wonderful and yes, go back for more! There are so many classes I want to take…so many! I have a couple of links to photo sites I like and will find them later and share them, I’m off for the day 🙂

    • I would love that! I really find photography to be good for my soul, too. I rush around so frequently in my day and photography makes me slow down and take in the present moment. And now I have some skills!! 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment. Have a great day and I would love to see any suggestions of photo sites!!! Thanks again!

  6. Five for five now. Good tune and good memories, especially considering what the song is about. Well done.

    • 🙂 Thanks! I promise a curve-ball soon. I just keep gettin inspired by these great legends of music. I can’t help it!

      • I look forward to your Tune Tuesdays. If you do throw a curve, it will give me something new to listen to or “really listen to” if I heard it differently before. Some popular songs don’t live on because they were too catchy, while less popular ones resonate and echo forever. I am carefully avoiding giving examples, as I don’t want to bias your next post. Well done.

        • You couldn’t throw me off. I have a great list lined up. THe last two weeks have just been hijacked by the Olympics and my photography course. 🙂 Thanks for the enthusiasm!

  7. Gorgeous pictures of a gorgeous setting! That new camera sounds awesome. Our Canon Rebel is quite heavy, so a lighter one would be a pleasant change. I do like the quality of pictures from the Rebel but I would love to know how to use the functions other than the automatic one. 🙂

  8. Actually one day I would like to take a course on photography as well. Nicely done – great photos.

  9. Beautiful pics. My daughter went to buy me a better camera for my bd when a certain store had them on sale. But when we got there they were all gone, but we did get a raincheck.

  10. Great job! I think you’re ready for a more advanced class too! I’m so glad you did this!!

  11. Great job with the photos! What a beautiful setting for a photo class. Be sure to post your Intermediated class photos, too, and have fun! ~ Lily

  12. Great photos, Jen! It’s an amazing feeling when you a have a few light bulb moments by taking a class. What seemed so baffling before actually has a rationale and some science behind it! Enjoy the next class.

    • Exactly!!! So fun!! Thanks so much for the encouragement. i can’t wait to learn more and share. I am dedicating my 40s to being more creative…:-) Thanks so much for reading!

  13. I remember how incredibly thrilled I was when I first managed to take decent photos off the automatic setting. Probably one of the best days of my life I think – I felt such a sense of achievement. Mind you, the photos haven’t gotten a lot better after that, mostly because I don’t practice enough. Perhaps I should take myself off to another short class for a refresher!
    And I really love that last photo in the post – those clouds look amazing!

    • Thank you!!! It is so exciting. And now that I have invested in a new camera, I am going to try and do a bit of practice every day. Thanks so much for the encouragement and for reading and leaving a comment!!

  14. Your favorite photo is also my favorite…you certainly capture the beauty around you for all of us to enjoy. I would love to take a public speaking class, but I haven’t gotten the courage (yet).

    • Oh, that’s a good one. I get sweaty palms just thinking about it. I have done a lot of pubic speaking, but I always get nervous. I am finally developing some stratgies to slow down and do some deep breathing before I start that really seem to help. I may add this one to my list of things to do. 🙂 Thanks so much for the comment!

  15. Very informative and useful. Thank you!

    Shakti

  16. I enjoy the song this morning … wow lovely. 😀 And fantastic photo shot of course

  17. Dear Jenni,
    O MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This is so exciting!!!
    Gorgeous pictures!
    Gorgeous!
    😉
    Love, Lis
    xooxoox

  18. Thanks so much! Can’t wait to check this out and put my newfound skills to work! 🙂

  19. Pingback: Travel Photo of the Year Contest: I’m a Finalist and Need Your Vote! | newsofthetimes

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

