Weekly Travel Photo Theme: Signs

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Remote border crossing between Argentina and Chile – Patagonia, Argentina

Signs, signs, everywhere a sign! I have to combine my weekly photo challenge with some Tunes Tuesday worthy lyrics this week. Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack has issued a weekly travel challenge about signs.

I love taking pictures of signs to capture where I have been, so it was hard to choose which photos to include, but here are some of my favorites, followed by the lyrics of a great oldie but goodie song.

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Chalten, Argentina – Trekking Capital of the World

Copyright JC Politi Photography
A famous road stop on the way to Chalten – Patagonia, Argentina

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Rockies Game – Denver, CO

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Pearl Street Mall – Boulder, CO

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Boulder, CO

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Small Village Outside Granada, Nicaragua

Copyright JC Politi Photography
Fells Point – Baltimore, MD

And now, for the Tunes Tuesday worthy lyrics:

Signs
Five Man Electical Band

And the sign said “Long-haired freaky people need not apply” So I tucked my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why He said “You look like a fine upstanding young man, I think you’ll do” So I took off my hat, I said “Imagine that. Huh! Me workin’ for you!” Whoa-oh-oh

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

And the sign said anybody caught trespassin’ would be shot on sight So I jumped on the fence and-a yelled at the house, “Hey! What gives you the right?” “To put up a fence to keep me out or to keep mother nature in” “If God was here he’d tell you to your face, Man, you’re some kinda sinner”

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

Now, hey you, mister, can’t you read? You’ve got to have a shirt and tie to get a seat You can’t even watch, no you can’t eat You ain’t supposed to be here The sign said you got to have a membership card to get inside Ugh!

And the sign said, “Everybody welcome. Come in, kneel down and pray” But when they passed around the plate at the end of it all, I didn’t have a penny to pay So I got me a pen and a paper and I made up my own little sign I said, “Thank you, Lord, for thinkin’ ’bout me. I’m alive and doin’ fine.” Wooo!

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Sign Sign, sign

What do you think? Do you have any funny travel stories about signs? Have you ever been grateful to see a sign?

I hope you will share your thoughts! Thank you for reading!

38 Comments

Filed under International, Music, Photography, Photos, Travel Challenge

38 responses to “Weekly Travel Photo Theme: Signs

  1. Great photos! (I don’t know why you think you need lessons.) But the song made me wish the signs weren’t there 😦

  2. of course your choice of song is perfect; the photo of the poem guy warmed my heart! great post! lisa/z

  3. Cindy

    Beautiful photos! Thank you. I feel like I’ve just been on a mini-vacation. And it makes me want to go to Argentina…

  4. I love signs, and these are wonderful! The song was one of my favorites when I was a teenager. So nice to see the lyrics – I always sing whatever I think I hear! 😉

  5. One of the best signs I’ve ever seen was a sign at the border of Montana and Alberta. It was winter, and on the Montana side it said: Canada, closed for the winter. Like we’re a theme park or something!

  6. Barneysday

    That song spoke to me when it first came out, and still does all thes many decades later. Great post.

  7. Another great song. My personal favorite signs are written on the street pavement in London where the gutter meets the sidewalk, probably with us Americans in mind. They are accompanied by an arrow pointing to the right and the words say “Look this way” or “Look to your right.” I must confess they are helpful. :>)

    • Thatsounds helpful. Kind of like the “coffee is hot signs” on the side of McDonalds coffee? 😉 BTW – I was thinking about you. Our Governor is the subject of a feature article in 5280 magazine this month if you want to learn more about him. I haven’t read it yet, but people have said it is a great article. Thanks so much for reading!!

  8. Excellent and I love the poet!

  9. now where the heck is New Zealand in number 3 ???
    Love the poet !!!!

  10. I like the photo of the poet. How cool to be doing that for a living. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Travel Theme: Signs « East of Málaga

  12. I think I’m in love with the poems on demand guy…no one would ever believe you saw someone randomly writing poems on an old school typewriter.

    • I know, right?? What a beautiful concept. One of the reasons I love Boulder, Colorado. You see that kind of stuff all the time here. Some of it less touching than others, but all fun! Thanks for the comment!!

  13. Nice photos… i was traveling out of town a few years ago and came into a falk in the road. There was a sign showing to go one way if you wanted to go into a certain city and was also pointing to go another way if you wanted to go in the other direction…depending on whatever the driver wanted to do. In this case the sign was confusing because there was a serious question about which direction the arrows were pointing. Of course the direction I decided to take was the wrong one.

  14. Fantastic series of signs shots, news, really really wonderful! I hugely enjoyed this post! Thanks for sharing, my friend! 🙂

  15. Great song and so perfect for the photography challenge. I love the picture with all the directional signs. It reminds me of the signpost in MASH with all the signs of everyone’s home towns. 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

