Travel Photo of the Year Contest: I’m a Finalist and Need Your Vote!

Perito Moreno Glacier, Calafate, Patagonia, Argentina
Copyright JC Politi Photography

I am so excited! Bucket List Publications has chosen this photo as a finalist for their Travel Photo of the Year Contest! There are 18 finalists and I have some stiff competition. I would love your help!

You can vote every day until the contest ends. All you do is go see all  the finalists and click on this picture and click “like” or share to mark it as your favorite! You can send it to friends and family to encourage them to vote though Facebook, Twitter, e-mail and lots of other ways. It would mean a lot to get your vote!

As I have mentioned here many times, I have a lifelong dream of becoming a “real” photographer some day. This blog has inspired me to focus even more on this, through fun photo challenges like Ailsa’s Where’s Your Backpack and WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenges.

I turned 40 earlier this year and am dedicating my 40’s to my more creative side. My intellectual self has been well exercised in the past 30 years and it is time to give more attention to creative pursuits. I have invested in a “real” camera and am taking every class I can find.

The Canon in the National Park Series helped me learn a few more technical skills and has taken my photography to another level. Really, the sky’s the limit and I am going to put on my wings and get there! I would love your help.

What do you think? What have you dreamed of doing for years? What is stopping you? What is the next step to reach that dream?

I would love you hear your thoughts….and get your vote! Thanks so much for reading.

If you liked this, you might also like:

Canon Photography in the Parks and You Are Invited to a Photo Blog Party! 

Tuesday Tunes and Canon in the National Parks: Kodachrome

Travel Theme: Flowers and Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside and Purple

84 Comments

Filed under Awards, Blogging, International, Love, Photography, Photos, travel

84 responses to “Travel Photo of the Year Contest: I’m a Finalist and Need Your Vote!

  1. Great photo — and blog — and I voted. Good luck!!!!

  2. Love this photo – off to vote now!

  3. I voted for you! Good luck.

  4. Congrats! It’s a beautiful photo of a place that’s on my travel list. I’m off to go vote now. 🙂

    • THANK you!!! I really appreciate it. And you SHOULD go. But if you do, don’t miss Chalten, which is just a few hours away and pretty much the most beautiful place I have ever been. Thanks so much for the support!!!

  5. I’ll vote for you if you vote for me! Ha, I d

    • I did not realize that was yours..nice!!!!

      • Which one is yours?????? Don’t tell me it’s the baloons. That one is AMAZING!!!

      • Oh, Katie. That one is so beautiful too. Where was it taken? I hope one of us wins and the other comes in second…or that we tie!!! 🙂 I love your photo too.

        • It was in Maui. I would love for us to tie…or I’ll take a silver to your gold….we have some ground to make up with the people jumping and the balloons. Good Luck!

          • I love it! Did you ride bikes down the mountain at sunrise? Is that where you took that photo? I love it! I think the balloons is probably going to win – darn professionals who enter these contest! 😉 Oh well, feels good to be included in a list with that photo!! 🙂 Good luck to you too!!

            • It is a kick to be a part of it 8)
              It was a part of the bike down tour…your good.

              • Nice. My mom offered to pay for that when I went to my best friend’s wedding there because she said it was spectacular. I don’t know why I didn’t do it. Especially if I could have gotten shots like that!!! I would suggest splitting our votes, but that might be like Nader Gore and we don’t want the Supreme Court deciding that Mr. Balloons wins. 😉

  6. My vote is cast! Lovely photo. 🙂

    Like you, I’m finally allowing my more creative side to surface by shifting to writing. Am loving it!

  7. Congatulations! What a beautiful photo. You’ve got my vote!

  8. Jen,
    Congrats on being one of the finalists for Bucket List Publications. Aren’t her blogs so inspiring? By taking photographs every chance you get and entering contests you are more than on your way to becoming a “real” photographer, but watch out! It can be an addicting endeavor : )
    I should know. I have been doing it since I was a kid.
    I really liked your post. Especially about setting a creative goal for your 40’s. As someone who is reaching the 40’s decade I too decided that I would like to dedicate more time to my photography (like I always dreamed of). I’ve spent almost all summer setting up my photo website, buying new equipment, going to workshops and it feels terrific forging into this creative path. I say that for anyone contemplating their dreams you get bolder and more confident by setting goals and accomplishing them one by one. The process becomes easier and more fun.
    You should check out NIck Exposed and Seeingspotsphoto. These are two different blogs, but the photographers know each other and about every other month they post up “photo challenges” for photographers. They are very informative and a lot of fun.
    Good luck with your photography. Oh, and I voted for you! Hope you win : )

  9. So impressed! I’m off to the site now.

  10. stickyquote

    Awesome photo I’ll make sure I vote and share good luck.

  11. I will be voting everyday! That photo is alive with beauty. It doesn’t look real..that is a compliment!

    • Yay!!!! Thank you so much!!!!! Looks like we have quite the group of community organizers here!! 🙂 Don’t forget you can vote once every day until it closes. Thank you SO much!!! Your support really means a lot!

  12. really nice photo! good luck! i’ll go back there tomorrow as well! z

  13. I just stopped by the site and voted for you. Good luck! I hope you win!

    • Thank you so much!!!! Apparently, you have to click like or share with social media to vote, so if people just visited but didn’t press like or share somewhere, it doesn’t count. We can vote every day. Thanks SO much for the support!!!! I REALLY appreciate it!

  14. Fantastic picture. Good luck! Voted.

  15. Congratulations!!! Your photo is so BEAUTIFUL!!!

  16. Good luck and congratulations! I voted for you.

  17. Yay for you! I follow Bucket List Productions blog too and saw their contest and thought how fun, but just no time, so I am glad you did it! And made it to top 18…I voted! 🙂

  18. Pingback: Travel Photo of the Year Contest Finalists! « EMPOWERED RESULTS ~ Creating A Difference In Our Communities…

  19. Congratulation, your photo deserves to win. I voted! 🙂

  20. I voted as well. Good luck.

  21. Good one, news, I voted! Best of luck! 🙂

  22. Best wishes and I voted for you… So easy to do!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

