Travel Photo of the Year Contest and Travel Theme: Sunset

Perito Moreno Glacier, Calafate, Argentina (Patagonia)

Travel Photo of the Year Contest:

Bucket List Publications has chosen this photo as a finalist for their Travel Photo of the Year Contest! There are 18 finalists and I have some stiff competition. I would love your help!

You can vote every day for the next week. All you do is go see all  the finalists and click on this picture and click “like” or share to mark it as your favorite! You can send it to friends and family to encourage them to vote though Facebook, Twitter, e-mail and lots of other ways. It would mean a lot to get your vote!

Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack has issued a fun travel theme this week. The theme is Sunset. Here are a few of my favorite sunset photos and my favorite sunset song from Fiddler on the Roof. I danced with my Dad at my wedding to this song, so it is very special to me.

Ocean City, Maryland
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Grenada, Nicaragua
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Aspen, Colorado
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Sunrise, Sunset
Fiddler on the Roof

Is this the little girl I carried,
Is this the little boy at play?
I don’t remember growing older,
When did they?

When did she get to be a beauty,
When did he grow to be so tall?
Wasn’t it yesterday when they were small?

Sunrise, sunset .
Swiftly flow the days.

Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers,
Blossoming even as we gaze.

Sunrise, sunset,
Swiftly fly the years,
One season following another,
Laiden with happiness and tears.

What words of wisdom can I give them,
How can I help to ease their way?
Now they must learn from one another,
Day by day.

They look so natural together.
Just like two newlyweds should be.
Is there a canopy in store for me?

Sunrise, sunset,
Swiftly fly the years,
One season following another,
Laiden with happiness,
And tears

What do you think? Where was your favorite sunset? What does sunset mean to you?

I hope you will share your thoughts…and your VOTE! Thank you so much for reading!

Some of the other entries in the Sunset Travel Challenge:

Travel Theme: Sunset | a hectic life
Travel Theme: Sunset « Hunters Holidaying
SUNSET ANYONE? « Zeebra Designs & Destinations
Travel theme; Sunset « So where’s the snow?
Sunset | Canoe Communications
Travel theme: Sunset | One step at a time
Travel theme: Sunset | tahira’s
I can see Africa from my terrace! « East of Málaga
Travel Theme: Sunset « weird & cool stuff seen while out & about
travel theme: sunset | catbird in america
Travel Theme: Sunset | StandingStill
Travel theme: Sunset « Healthcare Updates
Travel theme: Sunset at Mopane | Have you ever…
Travel theme: SUNSET « scrapydo
Travel Theme: Sunset « A year in the Life
Travel Theme: Sunsets | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity
Travel theme: Sunset | Even A Girl Like Me
Travel Theme: Sunset | Eluding Ennui

 

 

 

 

43 Comments

Filed under Awards, Colorado, International, Love, Music, Parenting, Photography, Photos, Relationships, Travel Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge

43 responses to “Travel Photo of the Year Contest and Travel Theme: Sunset

  1. Wow, to capture a nice sunset in Granada, Nicaragua is not the easiest task. You did a grand job!
    Great post and story about dancing with your father!
    Thanks for mentioning my entry! Z

  2. Just voted for your picture!

  3. voted again and put it out on facebook! Good luck!

  4. Just voted for your photograph 🙂

    Thanks for the pingback BTW.

  5. Love sunsets. Living on the banks of the Hudson River, I get to see a lot of them and with all the cloud formations we’ve had this summer, they’ve been spectacular! Voted for you again! xoxoM

  6. i voted for your photo, and I truly did think it fantastic.

  7. Thank you for featuring me, it’s much appreciated!! And I still can not get over your photo – it’s breathtaking! Your nomination is VERY well deserved! GOOD LUCK!!!

  8. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award « Magnolia Beginnings

  9. I’ve nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. (http://magnoliabeginnings.org/2012/08/18/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/). Please feel free to participate or not. I enjoy being able to share your blog and that’s really the point for me. Thanks for writing.

    • Yay!!!!! I am so honored and will definitely participate. I feel the same way about your blog and writing. You inspire me on a daily basis. Thanks SO much!!!

      • You are more than welcome. Let’s get out the vote too!!

        • Get out the vote – I LOVE it!! 🙂 Thank you!! I have to admit that the numbers are daunting. I am starting to set my sights on next year. With my new skills. And my new camera – watch out!! 😉 Truly, I aspire to take a shot like that balloons shot one day…in the next year. 🙂 Thank you SO much for your enthusiasm. I can’t tell you how much it means to me. Thanks again, my friend!!!!

  10. Stunning photo. I just voted for you!

  11. I am honored to nominate you for The Super Sweet Award! Please pick-up your award at http://www.grandmothermusings.com . Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I wish you many blessings. Congratulations!!

  12. Voted. Congratulations and good luck to you. You deserve it.

  13. love the one in Grenada, N.
    great images…voted…good luck

  14. That Grenada shot is magnificent, news. Voted for you! xxx Ailsa

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

