Tunes Tuesday: The Beautiful South and Travel Photo of the Year Contest

Musician outside Fie in Northern Italy
Copyright JC Politi Photography

It’s time for another Tunes Tuesday. Tunes Tuesday is a weekly series where we highlight at song lyrics that tell a story in a unique way. Lyrical lyrics!

The Beautiful South is a fun British band with quite a few quirky songs. Most of their songs will make you smile or laugh or cry – sometimes all three at once!

Tunes Tuesday will probably give me away as the romantic sap that I am, but you will find that most of the romantic songs I choose have an edge or something that makes them unique. With that in mind, I give you this week’s Tunes Tuesday pick:

The Prettiest Eyes
The Beautiful South

Line One is the time
That you, you first stayed over at mine
And we drank our first bottle of wine
And we cried

Line Two we’re away
And we both, we both had nowhere to stay
Well the bus-shelter’s always OK
When you’re young

Now you’re older and I look at your face
Every wrinkle is so easy to place
And I only write them down just in case
That you die

Let’s take a look at these crows feet, just look
Sitting on the prettiest eyes
Sixty 25th of Decembers
Fifty-nine 4th of Julys
Not through the age or the failure, children
Not through the hate or despise
Take a good look at these crows feet
Sitting on the prettiest eyes

Line Three I forget
But I think, I think it was our first ever bet
And the horse we backed was short of a leg
Never mind

Line Four in a park
And the things, the things that people do in the dark
I could hear the faintest beat of your heart
Then we did

Now you’re older and I look at your face
Every wrinkle is so easy to place
And I only write them down just in case
You should die

Lets take a look at these crows feet, just look
Sitting on the prettiest eyes
Sixty 25th of Decembers
Fifty-nine 4th of Julys
You can’t have too many good times, children
You can’t have too many lines
Take a good look at these crows feet
Sitting on the prettiest eyes

Well my eyes look like a map of the town
And my teeth are either yellow or they’re brown
But you’ll never hear the crack of a frown
When you are here
You’ll never hear the crack
Of a frown

What do you think? Who is your favorite quirky band? What do you like about their songs?

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Travel Photo of the Year Contest – I’m a Finalist!

Speaking of the Beautiful South…what is more beautiful in the South than the Perito Moreno Glacier in Argentina? Have you voted in the adventure travel contest at Bucket List Publications?

Perito Moreno Glacier – Calafate, Argentina (Patagonia)
Copyright JC Politi Photography

You can vote every day this week if you share it on social media or leave a comment. All you have to do to voe is go see all the finalists and click on this picture and click “like” (with the yellow star under the picture) or share or comment to mark it as your favorite! You can send it to friends and family to encourage them to vote though Facebook, Twitter, e-mail and lots of other ways. It would mean a lot to get your vote!

I hope you will take a moment to vote! Thank you for reading. Thanks so much for all your support!

25 Comments

Filed under Awards, International, Music, Photography, Photos, travel

25 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: The Beautiful South and Travel Photo of the Year Contest

  1. I have a couple of favorite local groups that some of my friends play in. And I want you to know I have visited the Bucket List site several times and voted — though I have no idea whether or not my vote is being counted. I hit the “like” button but nothing seems to happen! Oh well, I will keep trying!

  2. Great tune. Thanks for starting my morning right 8)

  3. That’s a great sentimental tune.

  4. I have a great respect for song writers. They have to say a lot in a few words. This band is great. Thank you for introducing me to them.

    • I completely agree. That is what I find amazing about them too and those are the kind of songs I look for for this series – ones that tell a story in just a few minutes or paragraphs – such a skill!! Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  5. You romantic sap you. I love it. I especially like the reference to crows feet around those beautiful eyes. Quirkiness depends on the mood. If you want upbeat music to have a great time with, “Flogging Molly” will get you going. There is a softer Irish band called, “Altan” I like very much.For popular quirky, I am an Elvis Costello fan, an acquired taste. He puts on a great concert. And. kd lang can sing anything well. Thanks for this theme and for taking us different places. Great job.

    • I love the crows feet line too. Such a nice image and message. I love the other bands you mention too, although I’ll have to brush up on my Irish bands. Thanks for your enthusiasm for this fun series!! 🙂

  6. That’s a great song and good luck with the photo contest!

  7. I love that song! I like Beautiful South…neat group! As for quirky, I love the Bare Naked Ladies…their lyrics are fantastic and clever. I got to see them in concert once and it was a fantastic show…they were witty, spontaneous and funnier than funny!

  8. Beautiful South are one of our favourite bands. Keep reminding us to vote and we will 😉

  9. Cute song, and congrats on being a semi-finalist! 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

