Travel Photo of the Year Contest and the Booker Award

Heather over at Bitsnbooks has presented me with the Booker Award, which is a little different from the other awards floating around. I love any award and am so grateful and humbled to be recognized by my talented peers. I hope you will take a moment to check out Heather’s blog.

This particular award is fun to accept for a geeky gal like me. The rules for accepting this award are to:

1. Nominate other blogs, as many as you want but 5-10 is always a good suggestion. Don’t forget to let your recipients know.

2. Post the Booker Award picture.

3. Share your top 5 books of all time

First, I will post my five favorite books of all times. This is a tough list to come up with, as I have loved many books over the years, but there are a few that have really stuck with me:

1.)    The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)  – I have shared some quotes from this book in past blog posts. This book may have just come into my life at the right time, but I don’t think there is ever really a wrong time to reflect on what is important to you. The messages in this simple story are potent and powerful at any time of life.

2.)    The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck) – This book knocked me over. Again, a story with a very deep message. This book delivers a strong social justice message and you end up feeling like you know and love this family by the end. I have only cried in a very few books, but the last paragraph of this one will live with me always.

3.)    Roots (Alex Haley) – This book made me cry from the start. It is an important portrayal of one of the largest scars on the American history – the fact that slavery was accepted and justified by our government. It puts a human face on something that most people would rather not examine closely. A very moving read.

4.)    Love in the Time of Cholera (Gabriel Garcia Marquez) – There is something about this book for me. The writing is so lyrical and beautiful, my blood pressure goes down with the first sentence.

5.)    The Elements of Style (Strunk and White) – Someday I will know whether a period goes inside or outside of quotes, but until then, this book will be on my desk.

I would like to present this award to the following bloggers:

Hugh Curtler

Musings of an Old Fart

Waiting for the Karma Truck

Carr Party of Five

Magnolia Beginnings

Analyfe

Life with the Top Down

Real Woman’s Health

Writing Your Destiny

The Healthy Warrior

The Jotters Joint

The Curtain Raiser

Talk to Diana

Third Eye Mom

The Bookshelf of Emily J

What do you think? What is the one book that has really impacted you? What is the one book you have read more than once and why?

Please don’t forget to vote in the Bucket List Publications Travel Photo of the Year Contest! There are 18 finalists and I have some stiff competition. I would love your help!

Perito Moreno Glacier, Patagonia, Argentina
Copyright JC Politi Photography

You can vote every day for the next few days. All you have to do is go to see all the finalists and click on this picture and click “like” or share to mark it as your favorite! You can send it to friends and family to encourage them to vote though Facebook, Twitter, e-mail and lots of other ways. It would mean a lot to get your vote!

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you so much for reading!

57 Comments

Filed under Awards, Blogging, Books, Culture, Education, History, International, Love, Photography, Photos, travel

57 responses to “Travel Photo of the Year Contest and the Booker Award

  1. You’ve got my vote! Congrats on the award! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your award. Great list there…Roots was one of my all time favorites! And beautiful photo as well 🙂

  3. Thanks, Jenni. I am in terrific company. I hope I can breathe in the thin air up here!! My favorite book, I think, I “Middlemarch”, or perhaps “Brothers Karamazov.” It’s hard, because I have many I read again and again. A truly great book invited repeated readings because we find something new every time e read it. Thanks again.

  4. congratulations on your award! Well deserved.

    I’d have to say, The Alexandrian Quartet — Lawrence Durrell — is one of those books for me. I first read it when I was around 21 and it has stayed with me over the years as one book I cannot forget how I felt reading it!

  5. I was nodding with enthusiasm when I read that you won this award! Then I saw that you nominated me – thank you so much!! I’m a total bookworm, so this is going to be a real challenge…Probably “To Kill A Mockingbird” is up there…”A Wrinkle In Time” from when I was a kid..Ok, I’ll think…in the interim – CONGRATULATIONS!!! You deserve every award there is..:-)

  6. Congratulations, Jen! Gone With The Wind is an all-time favorite of mine because of what I learn about myself over the years. I read it first as a teen-ager a long, long time ago, and still remember how I felt about it then. I find that my views and attitudes about the story and characters reflect an expanded understanding of myself and life in general. While the book has remained the same, I’ve grown and the book seems to be a good yardstick of that! xoM

    • I love that!!! That book reminds me of my grandmother – we used to always watch that movie together. Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn! 😉 Classic! Thanks for the comment and the kudos!

  7. You are so deserving! Thank you for your generosity my way as well. 🙂

  8. Congratulations. Very well deserved. And, thanks for including me on this list. I have found my favorite blog title from the list – “Waiting for the Karma Truck.” What a great name!!! Jenni, you are indeed a great dot connector. Many thanks for all you do. You are a treasure. And, when you figure out where the period goes near quotes, let me know.

  9. Wow! Love this award and I was nodding all along..yep, read that, read that…, great blog, great blog…ohh that’s me! Thank you so much. Mimi beat me to a Wrinlke in Time so I’d have to say my favorite adult book is Viktor Frankl’s Man’s Search for Meaning. It’s a life changing read. Now, I have to hurry and beat Mimi with nominations or they’ll be exactly the same!
    I voted, voted, and voted again…vote early and often is my motto!

  10. Congrats on the award! One of my favorite books is “A Fine Balance” by Rohinton Mistry. It takes place in India and is beautifully written. It affected me in a way few books do.

  11. Congrats, and what a fun award! To Kill a Mockingbird is a lifetime favorite and added to that since are many, but two that stand out are Pillars of the Earth and also, Unbroken.

    • It is a fun award – I should have added you to my list!! TKAM is one of my all tine favorites too. I’ll have to check out the other two. Thanks so much for the comment!!

      • Thanks…so sweet but there are no ‘should haves’. Sunshine spilled on wonderful folks. Do check out the other two, especially Unbroken, it is a book that moved me, incredibly. It’s a true story, written by the author of Sea Biscuit. If you read it, I hope you let me know what you think! I just orderd TKAM – have been wanting to read it again lately, and ordered a copy today from Amazon. 🙂 Happy reading!

  12. Congratulations on the award Jenni. And thank you again. I am thinking through my list of books now. I’ve also voted again. Hope you win the photo challenge too. ~Gail

  13. Wow that’s some great books! The Alchemist came into my life at just the right time too and I absolutely love that book. And I really enjoyed Love In The Time Of Cholera.
    I’m glad you had fun with this award. I know with some of the other ones it can become a bit tiresome trying to think of more stuff to tell about yourself, so this award is definitely my favourite one that I have received!

    • I love all the awards and spreading the love, although it does take me some time to get there. But I loved this one especially! So thanks so much for the award! And it is great to meet another Alchemist fan!!! Thanks again!!!

  14. Beautiful and yes you were right! Just what I was looking for! I will have to reflect on this a bit before responding. As for your photo, I’ve been there too! Love the photo!!!! Mine were a bit cloudier. Thanks for nominating me and I look forward to adding these books to the list!

  15. Thanks so much for the nomination for the Booker Award!
    One of the books that I read again and again is the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. That book changed my life and gave me confidence to become a professional writer back in the early 1990’s. I like to go back to it every so often. It just so happens that I intend to quote from the Artist’s Way in my blog today.
    There are several other favorite books that I read passages from quite often -The Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu, The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran and a book of Robert Frost poetry.
    Good luck with the photo contest too!

    • Ah yes, the morning pages are life changing! Thanks so much for all your support and encouragement! Would love to see your list if you have the times, but don’t feel obligated. Thanks again!

      • I have to think about my five favorite books of all time, because I love so many books, but I will do a post about that some time soon.

        • Congratulations on your award and your great list of books. I read so many subjects, it’s kind of hard to distinguish the best one. However there is a recurrent author in my collection of books. Sarah Dunan, she is British and writes historical novel, with invented personages but real historical times, events and details.

  16. Dear Jenni,
    My mind is whirling!!!!!
    I can’t wait to dig into this!
    Thanks so much dear friend, I really appreciate your nomination, and congratulations to you!
    🙂
    Love, Lis
    xoxoox

  17. Anonymous

    Congrat on your award, Jen. You have a great blog! Love Steinbeck. Have you read East of Eden? Books are like air to me so I am hard-pressed to pick just one, but one I have read THREE times and I still cry at the end is “How Green was my Valley, ” by Richard Lewellyn. Simply beautiful. As an aside about, “Roots,” I had the incredible privilege of interviewing Alex Haley when I worked as reporter for The Wave Publications in South Los Angeles many a year ago. And with three kids (one in college and two in high school), “Elements of Style” has been required reading for English classes in our home for the last million years! LOL!

    • Wow! That is quite an endorsement. I’ll have to check that one out. Thanks so much for the comment! And I can completely relate to tired fingers at the end of a day in front of a keyboard! 😉 Thanks so much for reading!!

  18. Not sure what happened on that last comment on “How Green was my Valley,” but “Anonymous” was me. Ooopps!

  19. Maybe I should have remained Anonymous with all the typos! Sorry about that: must have some type of typing fatigue after sitting at keyboard at work all day!

  20. CONGRATULATIONS again for another award.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BEBLESSED!

  21. I like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

