Tuesday Tunes: Ramble On and Awards Galore!

Fall in Colorado
Copyright JC Politi Photography

This week’s Tunes Tuesday pick is Ramble On by Led Zeppelin, who may just be my favorite band of all time. I chose this song this week because I am heading out of town for a 40th birthday and five year anniversary celebration vacation to Europe!

I will be gone for the next two weeks, so this post is meant to keep you occupied while I’m out. I will honestly miss all of you when I am gone and I may even peek in from time to time to see what is happening in your worlds. But for the most part, I will be eating chocolate croissants and tapas and drinking sangria and champagne…and taking pictures!!

What do you think? Do you have any suggestions for must-do unique activities in Barcelona, Paris, Amsterdam or Berlin? Have you taken any special trips to celebrate a milestone? What is your favorite memory from that trip?

I will include the Tunes Tuesday lyrics below, but I first wanted to acknowledge some awards I have received over the past month. My hope is that while I am gone, readers will take time to visit the great blogs who have honored me with awards and to visit the blogs I am passing awards on to. I promise, you will not regret taking the time to do this!

I have been honored to receive awards from some inspirational and educational bloggers:

Beautiful Blogger Award

Hugh Curtler

Narcissista.me

Sticky Notes and Quotes

Canadian Travel Bugs

Super Sweet Award

Grandmother Musings

Super Sweet questions:

1. Cookies or Cake? Molasses cookies or Snickerdoodles

2. Chocolate or Vanilla? Strawberry

3. What is your favorite sweet treat?Vacarro Cannoli!

4. When do you crave sweet things the most? 2 PM on a weekday.

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be? Sugar 😉

One Lovely Blog

Le Blog de Marie

Sisterhood of the World Blogger

Magnolia Beginnings

Very Inspiring Blogger

Real Woman’s Health

Waiting for the Karma Truck

Most of the awards require that I tell things about myself that people don’t know. So, here goes:

1.)    I just cut my hair pixie-short. I do this about every 10 years.

2.)    I never took a math class in college.

3.)    I love cookbooks, but I really don’t cook at all.

4.)    I have lived in 5 states and the District of Columbia.

5.)     Moves have been easier for me when I moved for a life-priority and not for a job.

6.)    I love Fall and everything associated with it, as you can see from the photos here.

7.)    I have always wanted to be a Peace Corps volunteer and still think I may when I am older.

8.)    I have a photography exhibit at a local Boulder restaurant in October!!

9.)    I love mashed potatoes – have I mentioned this before? It’s pretty important for anyone who knows me to understand this fully.

10.) Age 40 has been a surprise, but a great one so far!

A group of us have developed an amazing community and I encourage you to visit their blogs, including Waiting for the Karma Truck, Musings of an Old Fart, Hugh Curtler, Carr Party of Five, Magnolia Beginnings, Real Woman’s Health, Talk to Diana, The Curtain Raiser, Healthy Warrior, Jensinewall, Serenity in the City, Where’s My Backpack and Life with the Top Down.

I really encourage folks to visit these exceptional blogs. I am inspired and informed every day by each of these blogs and if any of these blogs do not have any of the awards listed above, please consider yourselves nominated! I really love and appreciate all of you!!

A few blogs I have recently come across that I have really enjoyed and would like to pass along each of these awards to:

Dr. Bill Wooten

Lead.Learn.Live

Gen Y Girl

Paperkeeper

The Jotter’s Joint

Third Eye Mom

Polka Dot Palace

Zeebra Designs and Destinations

Rendevous with Renee

And last but not least, I bring you Led Zeppelin for this Tunes Tuesday

Fall in Colorado
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Ramble On
Led Zeppelin

Leaves are falling all around, It’s time I was on my way.
Thanks to you, I’m much obliged for such a pleasant stay.
But now it’s time for me to go. The autumn moon lights my way.
For now I smell the rain, and with it pain, and it’s headed my way.
Sometimes I grow so tired, but I know I’ve got one thing I got to do…

Chorus: Ramble On, And now’s the time, the time is now, to sing my song.
I’m goin’ ’round the world, I got to find my girl, on my way.
I’ve been this way ten years to the day, Ramble On,
Gotta find the queen of all my dreams.

Got no time to for spreadin’ roots, The time has come to be gone.
[Chorus]

Mine’s a tale that can’t be told, my freedom I hold dear.
How years ago in days of old, when magic filled the air.
T’was in the darkest depths of Mordor, I met a girl so fair.
But Gollum, and the evil one crept up and slipped away with her, her, her….yeah.
[Chorus]

Gonna ramble on, sing my song. Gotta keep-a-searchin’ for my baby…
Gonna work my way, round the world. I can’t stop this feelin’ in my heart
Gotta keep searchin’ for my baby. I can’t find my bluebird!

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you so much for reading!

95 Comments

Filed under Awards, Blogging, Colorado, International, Music, Photography, Photos, travel

95 responses to “Tuesday Tunes: Ramble On and Awards Galore!

  1. Happy Birthday, Jen. And have a great trip!! Many thanks for the shout-out and for all your support. As you know, it is mutual. But brace yourself: when you return your computer will be bursting at the seams with comments and thank-yous: you are very special. 🙂

    • That is so sweet, Hugh. Thanks!! My birthday was in February and we just took a nap, but now we are going to celebrate! I think I’ll be able to keep up with the comments when there’s downtime and wifi, but I just won’t be posting during the time that I’m gone. I am even hoping to have more time to read a blog or two…but we shall see. I know it will be wonderfully busy. 🙂

  2. what a wonderful way to celebrate – have a great time and go to Shakespeare and Company Bookstore in Paris. Happy Birthday and seriously at 40 you are still a baby

  3. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary. Enjoy your trip. What a wonderful way to celebrate. Looking through your lists of blogs and facts I’m wondering if we aren’t related! The fear of a lack of mashed potatoes is one of the reasons I doubt I’ll ever join the Peace Corps ; ) We’ll miss you and look forward to your posts when you return.

  4. Happy birthday, have a great day.

  5. Have a great trip. I’ve been to Berlin several times, although it’s long ago now. They have great museums and I like Kurferstendam…not sure on spelling and the Gedachtnes Kursche and the zoo isn’t half bad!

  6. Have a great and safe trip..

  7. Oh honey thank you so much!! Thank you!!!!! This means so much to me.

  8. Happy Happy Birthday and Anniversary! Celebrate like crazy and know how much we appreciate and love you and your blog!! Thank you for the nominations – I feel very special to be nominated by someone as amazing as you..

    • 🙂 That is so sweet. You know the feeling is entirely mutual and that I adore your writing with every fiber of my being – so full of wisdom, grace and humor. My favorite combination!

      • Hmmm…sounds like the keys to your success too my friend!! 🙂

        • 🙂 Thank you!! That is really kind and makes my day, especially coming from you whose work I admire so much. 🙂 🙂 Thanks again!

        • I had a lactation coltnnsauty at Providence when my daughter was born. I was so unsure being my first and only child. The nurse was so sweet and so informative and I took all of her advice and after she finally eat, I don’t think she has ever stopped! So that would be an interesting choice. When I was in the Surgical Technician program I got to abserve a stent operation. It was very fascinating, but you have to have such steady hands very tedious veins, so I don’t think that would be for me either.

  9. Have a wonderful trip. Sounds like you’ll be experiencing some lovely places. 🙂

  10. Thanks for sharing one of my all time favorite songs! Wishing you a wonderful time on your trip and best wishes for a great birthday!

  11. Great post, and thanks for including my eclectic blog! I hope that you have a great trip! You will be missed! Z

  12. Thank you so much – it’s a joy to be included on your list of amazing folks here, many of whom I follow and read daily already 🙂 A few new folks I must meet! Have a wonderful trip!

    • Yay! If there is anyone here you are not familiar with, you MUST check them out. A wonderful group of insightful and inspirational folks. Keep up the great work and I will look forward to reconnecting when I return!

  13. Congratulations…nicely done! Happy birthday! I spent my 40th birthday at the top of the Eiffel Tower…that was a long time ago and still brings a smile to my lips. So, when you bring that lovely chocolate croissant to your lips, know that I’ll be smiling! Thank you so much for including me in your awards. I do so love your photographs and can hardly wait to see what you bring back from vacation. AND, congratulations on the exhibition. WOW! How exciting is THAT! Pictures, please! xoxoM

  14. the Jotter's Joint

    Congratulations. Well deserved awards for you. Happy birthday and happy anniversary. Safe travels. And thank you for the nominations. I appreciate them. ~Gail

  15. I am so jealous!! Can I travel with you? I can recommend the Picasso museum in Barcelona as long as you like Picasso. I know there are some that don’t like him. There is so much to do in Barcelona and we only spent 2.5 days there so I’m not an expert but I did enjoy that museum immensely.

    I took my hubby and daughter to Spain for my 50th birthday and then 10 months later hubby and I returned to Spain to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Favorite memories: our 20th anniversary dinner celebration at Posada de la Villa in Madrid and seeing Sevilla’s alcázar.

    Enjoy your trip!!

    • Wow – those sound like great recommendations! We will definitely do the Picasso museum – what’s not to like? 🙂 Thanks so much for the great recommendations. I just can’t WAIT!! Thanks again!

  16. Gorgeous photos! Congrats on al the awards!

  17. Your trip sounds AMAZING! I hope you have a wondeful time and find a perfect balance between sightseeing busyness and moments of quiet appreciation.

    Thank you so much for the awards and mention on your blog – not sure how I made it up there with that group of amazing bloggers but it’s much appreciated!

  18. Dearest Jenni,
    Your photos….A-mazing!!!!
    Your kindness to me: A gift from angels.
    Your trip: A well-deserved one, for sure.
    Your absence: very muchly missed!!!
    Love, Lis
    xooxoxxoxoxx

  19. Congratulations! And great song choice 🙂 Have a wonderful vacation!

  20. Ramble on through Europe and have a wonderful celebratory trip! Can’t wait to hear about your tirp when you get back! And congratulations on all your awards!

  21. wow SO many awards in your ‘trophy’ case! Congrats 🙂

    • 🙂 I have been stockpiling them in the hopes that people will check out my picks while I am out of town!! Thanks so much for the kudos!!!

      • You are welcome 🙂 Have fun ‘away’. Big holiday?

        • Yes!!!!! Europe! Yay!!! Can’t wait!!!!! Thanks again!!

          • A psychiatrist is a phisicyan who specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. I have a bachelor’s degree in the social services field. For several years, I have worked with children who have been diagnosed with mental disorders. It is upsetting to see children victimize at an early age and even more disturbing to see them as predators as early as 5 years of age, however knowing that I am doing my part to assist them in becoming functioning youths and adults is rewarding. The empathy, confidentiality and maturity of a medical assistant are definitely needed in this area. I enjoy establishing a rapport with these clients and helping them to find adequate coping skills to deal with their disorders, therefore I would like to work for a psychiatrist.I would not like to work for an emergency phisicyan for several reasons. I will explain a few. Patients who come to the emergency center typically have serious injuries or trauma. I would not like to have my mind constantly focused on who is coming thru the door and how sever the prognosis is. Knowing myself, I know that would be my focus and I would not be very productive. Also, in the emergency room the staff has to be prepared for anything, I would prefer an area that focuses on a particular specialty. Most importantly, I do not wish to see excessive amounts of blood loss on a regular basis. Actually, not even a minimal amount of blood loss on a regular basis. Giving my opinion and thoughts about this specialty, I would not be an effective employee.

  22. Congratulations Jenni. You are so deserving. And thank you for the nomination. I’m humbled and grateful. Dave

  23. You sure did leave a lot for us to do 🙂 Enjoy!

    • Ha!! That was the intent. But please take care of yourself and do whatever feels right for you. Just know that I really appreciate your great work and hope you will check out some of my other picks while I’m out!

  24. You are mighty generous my friend. Thank you. I will miss you!

  25. Happy Birthday and have an amazing trip!! Thank you so much for the shout out. Blessings to you! Enjoy! Jamie 🙂

  26. Have a fabulous time and happy birthday!

  27. Thank you and have a great trip! I look forward to checking out the blogs I am not familiar with yet. The ones I do recognize are so good I know I will enjoy the others.

  28. Congrats on the awards and thanks so much for thinking of me too! I love our WP community and all it’s amazing support! 🙂

  29. surprisingly the biggest thing i took from this was – you’re 40!?!?!?!?! 😀

    kidding, loved it!! Led Zep are legends, always have been, always will be, even their dodgey phases are better than many bands could ever hope to achieve 🙂

  30. Congratulations on your many awards and Happy Birthday!

    • Thank you so much!!! My birthday was in February and I usually only celebrate the entire month, but I figure for the decade milestones, I get to celebrate the whole year!! Thanks for reading and leaving a comment!! And for the kudos!!

  31. Congratulations for all the awards!!!

    Have a great time 🙂

  32. Happy Birthday and bon voyage. I am a head banger as well and love Led Zepplin. Great choice for your Tunes Tuesday. I was taking my second son to college, so was out of pocket. Best regards. BTG

  33. Have a wonderful trip, and congrats on the awards. Thanks for sharing about yourself. 😉 Safe travels.

  34. Now you certainly know how to celebrate News! I await your return so I can live vicariously through your photos. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary! 40 was my FAVORITE birthday since turning 10 (first double digit). Embrace it all and many more : )

  35. All the very best and wish you a great time over the next fortnight.

    Shakti

  36. Love being part of the NOFTTy community, Jen. Hope you’re having Le Blast on your trip. Can’t wait for your stories 🙂

  37. Pingback: 5:08am & inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

  38. Pingback: 5:37am & Inspired – Lead.Learn.Live.

  39. CONGRATULATIONS on your awards.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  40. Pingback: my cup runneth over « The Polka Dot Palace

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

