Friday Photos: Spain

We just got back from the most amazing trip last evening. We visited Madrid, Barcelona, Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin and Frankfurt. I am going to dedicate my Friday photos posts to a different country each week for the next four weeks.

Today, we visit Spain. Our first stop was Madrid and we only had one short day there. But the city enchanted us from the start. So much beauty everywhere we looked. And it may have been the time of year, but there really weren’t many crowds.

We loved visiting the royal palace and the Reina Sofia Museum, but our favorite part had to be the food.

The yummy Spanish ham – we couldn’t get enough of it and wanted to take some home to our pup!
Copyright JC Politi Photography

More yummy ham in Plaza Mayor in Madrid.
Copyright JC Politi Photography

Our next stop was Barcelona. We loved the food and the markets in Barcelona as well, but Barcelona was really about Gaudi and Catalunya.

We happened to catch this Catalunyan tradition, which is meant to show strength and unity.
Copyright JC Politi Photography

La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, Spain is a site not to be missed!
Copyright JC Politi Photography

La Sagrada Familia Almudena Cathedral, Madrid
Copyright JC Politi Photography

On the roof of one of the Gaudi houses in Barcelona – I wonder if the word gaudy came from this man’s work.
Copyright JC Politi Photography

We had a wonderful time in Spain and would love to go back. Next week, Photo Friday will feature Paris!!

What do you think? Have you been to Spain? What was your favorite part? What is your favorite Spanish food?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!!

52 Comments

Filed under International, Photography, Photos, travel

52 responses to “Friday Photos: Spain

  1. Seeing your pictures are a wonderful way to welcome Friday. I went with my husband and 8 year old son last year and it was AMAZING. Sagrada Familia, the vision for what a cathedral could be, just blew me away and made me want to cry (although I think it’s ugly on the outside, personally). Better yet, because the “art” (Casa Batlo, Segrada, Guell) in Barcelona is so hands on, my son was equally blown away. Our favorite place was the Mercado and seeing all the organ meat. Great tapas right in the middle with standing room only, but after enough cava you don’t even notice.

    Welcome back.

    • Yay!! You just brought it completely back to life for me. I was too tired to write much, but if I had, I would have written just what you wrote. What a magical place! And I agree – the outside of La Sagrada Familia looks like the Lord of the Rings on steroids to me. But I can see why a young boy would really enjoy Gaudi’s work. Thanks so much for the comment!!

  2. this post came into my feed just as i posted my friday post, which also features the trip i returned from last night! funny.

    your trip sounds amazing! loving the photos so far (especially that amazing ceiling in la sagrada familia and the roof of the gaudi house!!). looking forward to the rest!

  3. I have never been to Spain, but your photos make me want to go there! Welcome back, my friend.:)

  4. I lived in Spain ~ in Malaga on the Costa Del Sol for a year, but I traveled throughout Spain as well. Did you have paella? My favorite food above all. Love your pictures too! So very pretty! So happy you enjoyed yourself. Viva España!

    • We did have paella – one of our favorite foods and my husband’s specialty – his paella is even better than what we had in Spain!! And he spent a fortune bringing back good saffron so we can enjoy more here at home! 😉 Thanks so much for the comment!

  5. Hooray!!! You started with my favorite country first! I spent my junior year of college in Madrid and it enchanted me too all those years ago. It’s a wonderful city as is Barcelona. My favorite food has to be the tortilla española. and you’re right, the food in Spain is fabulous!! I’m so glad you enjoyed Spain. You definitely need to go back and see more of Madrid. LOVE the photos!!

    • I agree – Madrid was a beautiful surprise for us – we had no idea we would love it so much. We definitely need to go back! And tortilla espanola – now my stomach is grumbling for more!! 🙂 Thanks so much for the comment!

  6. LOVE Spain! I only spent 6 hours in Madrid, years ago on a layover to the Canary Islands, and fell totally in love with it. Barcelona, even longer ago, was a soothing balm to my spirit. Gorgeous pictures – and welcome back! xoM

  7. I’m going to Spain in December. And now that I’ve seen your gorgeous photos, I just can’t wait!

  8. What an amazing culture and the architecture is absolutely fascinating, too!

    • Isn’t it? So much beauty and then the Gaudi architecture is just absolutely wild! I loved it!!!! Thanks for reading and taking a moment to comment! I have been really excited to share pictures with all of you!!

  9. Dear Jenni,
    Everyone is going to Spain! It’s all about Spain!
    I am so jealous. I cannot wait to see all your gorgeous photos!!!
    😉
    Love, Lis
    xooxoox
    so glad you are back!!!!
    And I am so glad you had such a great time!!!!

  10. I’ve been to Barcelona. La Rambla is one of the best streets to people watch. 🙂

    • Absolutely!! And to eat! 🙂 I was shocked by the crowds there, but it was fun to dive right in. I think if we lived there I would pretty much avoid it, except to go to the Boqueria for jamon!! 🙂 Thanks for reading!!

  11. Never been to Spain (lovely pictures!) Frankfurt and Paris for me.

  12. I have always wanted to visit Spain – the shot of the Goudy roof is so enlightening regarding the detail of his work – astonishing! Thanks for sharing!

  13. the Jotter's Joint

    As always beautiful pictures. I’ve never been to Spain but would love to go. ~Gail

  14. Thanks for sharing your photos from your trip. It looks wonderful, and look forward to your other pictures too! 🙂

  15. Fabulous Jenni!!! I have been to Madrid long enough to go to the Prado and walk around for a day, spending two hours at an outdoor restaurant just people watching..I need to go back.

  16. Never been to Spain, but really want to go. 😀 Looking forward to the “photo trip” ! 😀

    • Thank you!! I am so excited to share the photos and hope to have more energy to write to provide context with the future posts! Thanks so much for stopping by and taking time to leave a comment!

  17. Welcome home!!! Great pics. Spain is the first stop in my 2 week fantasy plan. You’ve made me hungry for food and a vacation 8)

  18. the curtain raiser

    Never been to Spain, but your pictures make it come alive! Being in Australia we don’t hear as many Spanish accents as America, but I think I would spend my time in Spain just getting people to talk! Sounds like you guys had a great trip.

    • That was actually my favorite part! I wish my language skills were a little better, but I did OK. I loved talking to people and just experiencing the culture even more than seeing all the iconic sights!

  19. I’ve never been to Spain, but your picture make me want to go immediately. So beautiful, so colorful and absolutely amazing!.

  20. Welcome back!! I can tell you had a great time 🙂 Nice photos!

  21. Gaudi’s work is so over the top that I have believed he gave us the word gaudy, yet, on looking it up … Origin of GAUDY probably from Latin gaudium joy — more at joy First Known Use: 1651. Gaudi lived 1852 to 1926 … if he didn’t give us the word, his work definitely fits the description of gaudy. I didn’t venture in when I was there many years ago … wish now that I had.

  22. I love Spain but it isn’t a good place to go when you are pregnant! The late night eating and the oh so good wine makes it tough! Sounds like a wonderful trip! I lived in Paris durin my junior year of college and it remains my favorite city in the world. Can’t wait to hear more!

  23. I’ve never been to Spain – but seeing these pictures really makes me want to go! Wonderful 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

