Tunes Tuesday: Elton John

Elton John has so many wonderfully written songs, I am sure he will appear in this Tuesday Tunes series again, but this week, I am going to feature “Your Song.”

My husband and I celebrated our five year wedding anniversary this week and this was the song that was played at both of our weddings. In Baltimore, we used the traditional version of the song. In Argentina, we used the Moulin Rouge version of the song and came out from behind long red curtains to friends and family and bubbles as the opera starts – these are precious memories I will treasure always.

This song is simple, but delivers such a sweet message. “How wonderful life is, while you’re in the world…” I hope you agree.

Your Song
Elton John

It’s a little bit funny, this feeling inside
I’m not one of those who can easily hide
I don’t have much money, but boy if I did
I’d buy a big house where we both could live

If I was a sculptor, but then again, no
Or a man who makes potions in a traveling show
I know it’s not much, but it’s the best I can do
My gift is my song, and this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple, but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss
Well, a few of the verses, well, they’ve got me quite cross
But the sun’s been quite kind while I wrote this song
It’s for people like you that keep it turned on

So excuse me forgetting, but these things I do
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple, but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

I hope you don’t mind, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

What do you think? What was your wedding song? Does it still hold a special place in your heart or has its power worn off? If you are not married, what would you like to dance to at your wedding if you got married?

I’d love you hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

46 Comments

Filed under International, Love, Music

46 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Elton John

  1. Happy Anniversary! And I love this song too.

  2. What’s not to like!!?? Happy Anniversary and many more! 🙂

  3. Great song, great choice. Congrats!!

  4. Love this song too — happy 5th anniversary —

  5. Wonderful memory to a gorgeous song..Happy Anniversary Jennie – wishing you years and years of joy and love…

  6. oh i love this song. i just sat and let it ‘play in my head’ while i read your post over my lunch break! lovely. :0)

    your wedding(s) spund pretty awesome. our best man wrote and performed our first dance. the song was inspired by a line from a letter husband wrote to me… pretty cool, eh?

  7. Happy anniversary! We had a very simple wedding in a community garden. Our song was birdsong – I couldn’t make out the words! lol xoxoM

  8. One of my favorites!! I love that you used this a your wedding song, it’s perfect. Happy Anniversary and many more years of happiness to come!

  9. Always a good one! We never had a wedding dance, so we never had a wedding song. But we’ve managed to stay married for 24 years regardless. 🙂

  10. What an interesting wedding the one in Argentina must have been! We danced to “At Last”, the one made famous by Ella Fitzgerald but I don’t think that’s the one we danced to. We heard it early on in our relationship and thought it was the perfect song for us since we were 30 and 36 when we got married. May you enjoy many more anniversaries together!!

    • That was the way it was with this song for us. And I always thought I shoud have used At Last because we were 35 and 40! 😉 Thanks so much for the comment. BTW – you are right – the Argentina wedding was a full-fledged blow-out and adventure!!!!

  11. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! What a beautiful song. Ours 13 years ago was Ronan Keating’s When You Say Nothing at All. 😀 We sometimes rib each other to remember that silence is golden! To many happy years ahead! Sharon

  12. Elton John is such a classic…can’t go wrong with anything he’s done…and perhaps an omen to your future..that your marriage will equally be a classic. Happy Anniversary!

  13. Wonderful song! Love the Moulin Rouge version! Happy Anniversary! We just celebrated #7 in July and our song was “Somewhere Over the Rainbow.” Perfect day, perfect guy, lucky me 🙂

  14. Beautiful song by an extremely talented artist! Congratulations to you both on your wedding anniversary! 🙂

  15. Congrats and a great tune that deserves two performances. “How wonderful life is while you’re in the world” is one of the greatest lines ever. The fact it means so much to you and the hubby makes it even more special. We like you too. Best regards and cheers. BTG

  16. Congrats Jenni. I’m a huge Elton fan…

  17. Anonymous

    Oh, I just adore this song. I shall play it today at the Mall. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂 Congrats to you and hubby, on your 5 years.

  18. Pingback: 4:45am. And, Inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

  19. Hi Jenni. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award. Your posts are an inspiration. If you choose to accept the award, you can find my nomination at this link: http://davidkanigan.com/2012/09/19/432am-inspired/. Please understand that you are under no obligation to accept – this is just a simple thank you for sharing your inspirations.

  20. By far one of my favorite songs of his…and the Moulin Rouge version is amazing…

    Congratulations on 5 years!!

  21. Happy belated anniversary! What a perfect song choice – both for your weddings, and also for looking back on them. Congrats!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

