Tunes Tuesday: Dixie Chicks

Copyright JC Politi Photography

This song spoke to me from the first time I heard it. Maybe because I had recently moved to Austin, Texas and was seeking out some wide open spaces of my own. The line “Dad yells ‘check the oil'” just really hit home for me.

This song tells a common story with wonderful imagery and emotion.

This week, for Tunes Tuesday, I bring you Wide Open Spaces by the Dixie Chicks.

Wide Open Spaces
Dixie Chicks

Who doesn’t know what I’m talking about
Who’s never left home, who’s never struck out
To find a dream and a life of their own
A place in the clouds, a foundation of stone

Many precede and many will follow
A young girl’s dream no longer hollow
It takes the shape of a place out west
But what it holds for her, she hasn’t yet guessed

[Chorus:]
She needs wide open spaces
Room to make her big mistakes
She needs new faces
She knows the high stakes

She traveled this road as a child
Wide eyed and grinning, she never tired
But now she won’t be coming back with the rest
If these are life’s lessons, she’ll take this test

[Repeat Chorus]
She knows the high stakes

As her folks drive away, her dad yells, “Check the oil!”
Mom stares out the window and says, “I’m leaving my girl”
She said, “It didn’t seem like that long ago”
When she stood there and let her own folks know

[Repeat Chorus]
She knows the highest stakes
She knows the highest stakes
She knows the highest stakes
She knows the highest stakes

What do you think? What is a song that tells of a common human experience for you? Or a song that got you through a certain phase in your life?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

28 Comments

Filed under Culture, Love, Music, Parenting, travel

28 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Dixie Chicks

  1. Fun stuff. They are fun to listen to. Thanks for perking up a rather dull Tuesday again!

  2. A new song to me – and I love it. Thanks ..
    A song that mean a lot to me – really two songs … “i gotta feeling” with black eyed peas – that I had as a cheering on song during my cancer treatment … and now I with my aftermath problems from the treatments – I have changed song … for make me feel better on bad days, “living tree” with shirley bassey – let me dance ’til my shoes cry .. done a post about that song. http://wp.me/p293Pw-3Cf

  3. Love the Dixie Chicks..so many songs have informed my life..Shower The People, Bridge Over Troubled Water, Lovely Day…Goody bye Joe, Smile…oh man Jenni, I could go on forever…xox

  4. Fellow Dixie Chick chick here, and this song has always been one of my favorites! Great choice Jenni . 🙂

  5. Great song! Wonderful choice! Just reading the lyrics took me back to a time in my life when I too was heading out to explore my own ‘Wide Open Spaces.’ Seems like a lifetime ago! Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  6. Jenni, you threw me another curve ball. Thanks for spicing it up. I know who the Dixie Chicks are, but must confess not knowing their music. I need to give a listen. I do know they took crap for standing up and saying what they believe, when our previous President decided to invade a country with false information. Right or wrong, they have the right to say what they want. Yet, in this case with 20/20 hindsight, they were right. Take care and have a wonderful Thanksgiving. You are the best. BTG

  7. Ah yes, different songs at different times.
    Somehow song artists are able to capture moments for us with both the words and the music.
    Great choice for today.
    PS. I posted a song today too ‘Circle of life’ Elton John. One of my favourites. Have a great day 🙂

  8. Dear Jenni,
    I just love you to pieces. This song…is SO YOUR song. I think of you like this wide-eyed wanderer….ready for new experiences, people, and places. My favorite line…”She needs wide open spaces, room to make her big mistakes.”
    I think I’ve finally made it to the place of needed to get off Facebook. It seems to cause me more heartache than good. The blogging world is my “Wide Open Space….my room to make my big mistakes”…..the facebook world seems to close in on me with negativity and judgement. Not all the time…but often.
    When I was listening to this song…it made a lot of sense to me. I realize you had no idea that it would push me over the edge to do what I KNOW in my heart I need to do….but..Thank you. As always, I count myself blessed to be in your circle of light that you put out.
    🙂
    Love, Lis
    xoxox

  9. Pingback: It’s Complicated | Carr party of five

  10. Oh my goodness: one of my favorite songs! With one kid launched to college and another in the wings, this really hit me as a mom when I first heard it on my daughter’s ipod. It’s hard to let them go, but everyone needs room to make those big mistakes.

  11. Great song! Reminds me of when my parents drove me down to North Dakota to attend college, many, many moons ago! Although I’ve always lived on The Prairies, I’m a city girl who has to leave the city to find the ‘open spaces’. Hubby and I wanted to find a piece of land outside the perimeter when we were young and energetic, but that never happened. I’m just happy we have family who managed to find those plots of land so we can, at least, visit. 🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

