Giving Thanks

 

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Thanksgiving is my very favorite holiday. What is better than a holiday with no presents, but with lots of food, family and friends?

My favorite part of Thanksgiving – aside from the mashed potatoes, which we have discussed here at length – is setting aside a day to think about all the things I am thankful for.

It is so easy to get caught up in daily life and to forget what I have and how fortunate I am.

This year, I am thankful for so many things, among them:

All of you – I had no idea when I started blogging that I would find such a supportive, funny and inspiring community. Thank you for all the comments, kudos and encouragement.

My family – it is hard to be away from Baltimore at this time of year, but I am fortunate that my mom comes out to visit and my husband cooks a fantastic dinner – how can I not be thankful about that?

The birthday boy
Copyright JC Politi Photography

My two year old pup, who actually turns two years old on Thursday and thinks everyone celebrates his birthday with a big feast! I have been looking forward to the maturity of two and we are finally here. Now, I will look forward to the further sophistication of three.

My friends, who know how to make me laugh until I cry. I exhale completely when I am with my closest friends.

My colleagues, who have dedicated their lives to helping low income families and vulnerable children and who inspire me on a daily basis with their passion, their dedication and their vision.

Simply to have a warm house to live in, food to eat and people to love.

Sometimes it is good to take a moment and just reflect on all the things that are good in life.

What do you think? What are you most grateful for this year? What are your Thanksgiving traditions?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading.

Have a happy and safe holiday. And for a little Turkey-based levity:

34 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Colorado, Culture, Food, Home, Love

34 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. Have a wonderful day! May your mashed potatoes be only as lumpy as you like 😉

  2. My thanksgiving list is endless. 🙂 Enjoy your dinner. How nice to have a husband who cooks. 🙂

  3. So true .. the thankful list is so long – so we should really have a thankful hour per day .. instead of one day per year. I’m thankful that I can visit … places like this and meet interesting people like you.

  4. Lovely! Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Beautiful post and loved the video – still laughing!

  6. I have always wondered why Thanksgiving is in autumn. To me this is the time when we step back, observe and conserve for the future. This is the time when we take stock of things and appreciate what we have and achieved. This is why we have the Thanksgiving at this time….

    Cheers

    Shakti

  7. I’m thankful that I read this this morning and saw that puppy face! Wait until he finds out his his birthday is celebrated across the country. I had an amazing traditional Thanksgiving with family. Hope you all had a wonderful day!

  8. Hi Jeni, Happy Thangsgiving! My reasons for being thankful is much the same as yours…A warm house ro live in, food to eat and people to love. I would also add having good health and strength. Loved the video BTW. 😉

    • Glad you liked it! You are so right – health is such a basic and simple thing, when it’s good. Important to recognize that that is a luxury that we should not take for granted. Thanks for the comment and happy thanksgiving!

  9. Jenni, I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. It is my favorite holiday as well. We had a houseful of people over yesterday and it is always a joy. Especially when everyone brings their favorite dish. It becomes a family meal. Best wishes to all you do here on this blog and in your daily efforts to help others. You make a difference. Thanks for doing so, BTG

  10. Thanksgiving is indeed the best holiday. It changes in scope as the years go by, as family members change in age and attitude, as personal needs vary, it changes the gathering time mood. Even my mashed potato casserole undergoes changes–change is often looked at as a inconvenience, yet it can also be illuminating. Happy Tday

    • I am addicted to change, although thanksgiving is such a time of traditions for us. I would love to try that mashed potato casserole! Yum!!!!! Thank you for the comment and happy thanksgiving!

  11. I loved the video. Thanks for posting it. I hope that you had a wonderful and fried-turkey-fire-free Thanksgiving!

  12. Funny video: love William Shanter’s facial expressions! I am grateful for the love of family and the fact that each day is a new opportunity to grow and learn!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

