Tunes Tuesday: Indigo Girls

image

Copyright JC Politi Photography

For this week’s Tunes Tuesday, I have chosen the Indigo Girls’ Galileo. I have always loved these lyrics, and they are even more thought-provoking when you think about the meaning behind the song. I would love to hear what this song brings up for you.

Galileo
Indigo Girls

Galileo’s head was on the block
The crime was looking up for truth
And as the bombshells of my daily fears explode
I try to trace them to my youth

And then you had to bring up reincarnation
Over a couple of beers the other night
And now I’m serving time for mistakes
Made by another in another lifetime

How long till my soul gets it right?
Can any human being ever reach that kind of light?
I call on the resting soul of Galileo
King of night vision, King of insight

And then I think about my fear of motion
Which I never could explain
Some other fool across the ocean years ago
Must have crashed his little airplane

How long till my soul gets it right?
Can any human being ever reach that kind of light?
I call on the resting soul of Galileo
King of night vision, King of insight

I’m not making a joke, you know me
I take everything so seriously
If we wait for the time till all souls get it right
Then at least, I know there’ll be no nuclear annihilation
In my lifetime, I’m still not right

I offer thanks to those before me
That’s all I’ve got to say
‘Cause maybe you squandered big bucks in your lifetime
Now I have to pay

But then again it feels like some sort of inspiration
To let the next life off the hook
But she’ll say, “Look what I had to overcome from my last life
I think, I’ll write a book

How long till my soul gets it right?
Can any human being ever reach the highest light?
Except for Galileo, God rest his soul
King of night vision, King of insight

What do you think? What do you think about reincarnation? And why do you think that some of the most innovative and brilliant thinkers have been demonized and ostracized in their lifetimes?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

18 Comments

Filed under Culture, End of Life, Music

18 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Indigo Girls

  1. Great lyrics. Thanks, Jen.:)

  2. Dear Jen,
    I strongly believe that we are not here only once. One lifetime is just not enough to learn all we have to learn! I know it makes a lot of people get uncomfortable when I mention my “lifetimeS”….ahhh well. I’m not sure about much, but that one, I’m pretty sure about. I could be wrong, of course, but I’m ok with that.
    We ALL have to wonder.
    🙂
    Love, Lis
    xoox

    • I love the wondering, don’t you????? I’m not sure what I believe but I don’t rule anything out. Thanks for the comment, my dear friend. I was at a conference that I organized this week so I haven’t been around much, but I’ll be back soon!!!! 🙂

  3. Great song and lyrics. They make you think. I love the line “the crime was looking up for truth.” Sometimes I feel like our group of bloggers is guilty of looking up for truth. We need more truthseekers in this world (a HR term used in one of those tests). I just hoped we don’t end up with our heads on the block. Well done. By the way, I gave you due credit for the inspiration on my post yesterday. Take care. BTG

  4. I used to believe in re-incarnation. I mean how is it I just knew how to ride horses? why am I so afraid of having my air cut off?

  5. First, Jen: GORGEOUS picture! I LOVE the way you captured the light!
    In my view, Life is eternal. What we call/perceive as life is just a piece of that eternity. I don’t look at it as re- anything; I look at it as the continuous unfoldment of Soul, perfect, eternally, expressing as me, whoever I Am this life-segment…xoxoM

    • That is beautiful, and Margarita. I love that philosophy. And thank you for the kudos on the photo. I took a cue from you and took that one with my phone on my walk with my pup! Thanks for sharing your inspiring belief!! And thank you for reading!

  6. I love your photo, Jeni. You really have the eye of an artist.

  7. This is a very thought-provoking post. Reincarnation is an interesting concept and believed by many different cultures across continents. Back in my youth, I read a book called The Girl With The Blue Eyes that explored this very subject. It’s the true-to-life experiences of a girl who discovered through hypnosis that she had lived past lives. I was skeptic at first but as I read on, she happened to drive down a country road with her parents, one she had never been on before in her current life and told her parents to travel down an adjoining road and stop at an old farm house. This, she said, was where her father was killed with a pitch fork. Scary stuff!

    The original populations of North America believe that a person’s ‘spirit’ leaves the body and is reborn in another life, whether that be an animal, mineral or a plant. That’s why they revered the earth and all that dwelt on it, because it was made up of their ancestors. If you want to get scientific about it, this theory makes a lot of sense, since the body loses its energy once it dies. That energy has to go somewhere, right? Why not into the plants or insects that an animal eats to replenish its own energy? I suppose that is a form of reincarnation on the most basic level.

    As for the demonization and ostracization of individuals because their beliefs differ, I could never really understand why people can’t just accept that opinions between two individuals may differ. I think it is probably a control thing, that the ‘leaders’ condemn those who don’t agree with them because it undermines their authority.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

