Tunes Tuesday: Silver Thunderbird

DSC00630There are so many great songs about cars. Maybe because the automobile is such a foundation of the American culture, for good or evil.

My favorite car song is Silver Thunderbird by Marc Cohn. I can smell the leather seats and see the feather in the man’s hat. This song probably resonates with me because it reminds me of my grandfather and his big sky-blue car – I don’t think it was a Thunderbird, but this song could have been about him and his car just the same.

I miss that man and his car but am thankful for a song that reminds me of him.

Silver Thunderbird
Marc Cohn

Watched it coming up Winslow
Down South Park Boulevard
Yeah it was looking good from tail to hood
Great big fins and painted steel
Man it looked just like the Batmobile
With my old man behind the wheel

Well you could hardly even see him
In all of that chrome
The man with the plan and the pocket comb
But every night it carried him home
And I could hear him sayin’…

Don’t gimme no Buick
Son you must take my word
If there’s a God in heaven
He’s got a Silver Thunderbird

You can keep your Eldorados
And the foreign car’s absurd
Me I want to go down
In a Silver Thunderbird

He got up every morning
While i was still asleep
But I remember the sound of him shuffling around
Then right before the crack of dawn
I heard him turn the motor on
But when I got up they were gone

Down the road in the rain and snow
The man and his machine would go
Oh the secrets that old car would know
Sometimes I hear him sayin’…

What do you think? What is your favorite car song? Are there any songs that remind you of your childhood and special people in your lives?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

18 Comments

Filed under Culture, Music, Parenting

18 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Silver Thunderbird

  1. I confess, I’m not that deep when it comes to cars. My favorite is Fun, Fun, Fun, by the Beach Boys. Still about a T-bird. Reminds me of taking off with my friends in my mom’s aqua Bel-Air with the radio blaring, probably that song. That was the fun part of being a teenager! lol xoxoM

  2. With allowances for poetic license I hate to say I don’t thin k the Thunderbirds has tail fins! They were great cars — especially the original two-passenger Thunderbirds. I dated a girl in college who owned one (no, that wasn’t why I dated her!) This takes me back! Thanks, Jen. 🙂

  3. Great post – like the music. We never had a car during my childhood … my first car was involved in an accident with – don’t want to remember that one.
    The first car that made an impact me – was a red Jaguar E-type CAB .. and owned by my boss at the time. This was in 1970.

  4. Jenni, I’ll have to go back to Jan and Dean and the Beach Boys. GTO, 409, Fun Fun Fun till her daddy took the T-Bird away. Sprinstreen’s Pink Cadillac is pretty good, too. Thanks for the memories. BTG

    • Good choices. So many great songs about cars. I’m sure I’ll do another doing or two about them… thanks for the comment. I’m sure you’re watching the relief concert. I missed a lot of it but how fun was Adam Sandler?!?!!!

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

