Tunes Tuesday: Christmas is All Around Us

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

I admit it – this song is not exactly poetic. But I wanted to feature a holiday song and it seems that there are not a lot of holiday songs that are lyrical masterpieces.

This song is from the movie Love Actually. If you haven’t seen this movie, rent it tonight. It is the perfect mix of humor, emotion and festivity, without being too sacchariney sweet. We watch it every year to get into the holiday mood and it never fails to lift our spirits and get us ready for the season.

Be sure to watch the youtube clip below!

Chistmas is All Around Us
Billy Mack, Love Actually

I feel it in my fingers,
I feel it in my toes,
Christmas is all around me,
and so the feeling grows

It’s written in the wind,
It’s everywhere I go,
So if you really love Christmas,
C’mon and let it snow?

You know I love Christmas
I always will
My mind’s made up
The way that I feel
There’s no beginning
There’ll be no end
Cuz on Christmas,
You can depend

You gave your presents to me
And I gave mine to you
I need Santa beside me
In everything I do

You know I love Christmas
I always will
My mind’s made up
The way that I feel
There’s no beginning
There’ll be no end
Cuz on Christmas,
You can depend

Cuz on Christmas,
You can depend

It’s written on the wind
It’s everywhere I go
So if you really love me
C’mon and let it snow?
C’mon and let it snow?
So if you really love
C’mon and let it
If you really love me
C’mon and let it
Now if you really love me
C’mon and let it snow?

What do you think? What is your favorite holiday movie? Why? What are your favorite holiday songs? Which holiday songs have the best lyrics, in your opinion?

I woud love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

9 Comments

Filed under comedy, Culture, Love, Music

9 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Christmas is All Around Us

  1. My favorite holiday movie is “Christmas Story.” We watch it every year with our elder son and his family when they visit for Christmas. My favorite Christmas songs are the traditional Carols (Surprise!) Have a Happy Holiday, Jen 🙂

  2. My favorite movie is “It’s a Wonderful Life” and my favorite Christmas song is Swedish of course – Låt mig få tända ett ljus (Let me lite a candle) – it’s really Mozart’s “Schlaf, mein Prinzchen”, music by Mozart – but it has been a Swedish Christmas song since 1972. It was a used in a South Korean horror movie by title “ A Tale of Two Sisters”

  3. Great movie. My favorite is “It’s a Wonderful LIfe” but I also enjoy the George C. Scott version of “A Christmas Carol.” Jenni, I will likely have chance to say it again, but have a joyous and safe Christmas. Take care, BTG

  4. Absolutely love that movie!!!
    One of my faves… Thanks for the video link. He is just the LOVE personification.

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

