Tunes Tuesday: Holiday Inspiration and A Baltimore Greeting

Photo Courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Photo Courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Greetings and Happy Holidays from Baltimore! For this Tunes Tuesday, I am highlighting one inspirational holiday song, and one song to give a giggle. I hope you and yours have a relaxing holiday season, filled with laughter and love.

My Grownup Christmas List
David Foster

Do you remember me
I sat upon your knee
I wrote to you
With childhood fantasies

Well, I’m all grown up now
And still need help somehow
I’m not a child
But my heart still can dream

So here’s my lifelong wish
My grown up christmas list
Not for myself
But for a world in need

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
and wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end
This  is my grown up christmas list

As children we believed
The grandest sight to see
Was something lovely
Wrapped beneath our tree

Well heaven only knows
That packages and bows
Can never heal
A hurting human soul

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end
This is my grown up christmas
list

What is this illusion called the innocence of youth
Maybe only in our blind belief can we ever find the truth
(there’d be)

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all
hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end, oh
This is my grown up christmas list

This is my grown up christmas list

And for a little Baltimore hospitality and charm, I Want Crabs for Christmas. I couldn’t find the lyrics to this one or it would have gotten top billing here, no questions asked. I hope you’ll take a minute to check it out.


And Merry Christmas!!

What do you think? Is there a local favorite Christmas song in your town? What is it? What is your favorite Christmas song that won’t get out of your head this time of year?

14 Comments

Filed under Music

14 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Holiday Inspiration and A Baltimore Greeting

  1. Jenni, spread the newspaper and crack open a crab for me.I like both songs, but you have planned one of our meals before the kids go back to school. We love having crab, corn on the cob on top of newspaper, then sweeping it away afterwards. Have a wonderful time in Baltimore and hope you pass the Colts quiz (the real ones, not those guys in Indianopolis). I have enjoyed getting to know you through your passionate and informative writings and tune memories. Take care, BTG

    • We had crabs for Christmas eve and I think we are going to make it a tradition, which inspired this song for Tunes Tuesday! I hope you and yours are having a fantastic Christmas! I am so grateful I met you this year. You have helped me grow and learn with every post! And I can’t tell you how much I have appreciated all your support and encouragement in 2012!! Merry Christmas, my friend!

  2. So! Another year and another to come. Thank you, Jenni, for your inspirational and insightful thoughts. Looking forward to 2013!!
    Many Holiday wishes to you..and yours.
    Raye

  3. Baltimore….boy that takes me back!! Have fun and a great holiday break. I love the lyrics: couldn’t have said it better myself!

    • Isn’t that fun?????!!!!!??? I knew you would appreciate that video more than most. I love the hon ladies!! 🙂 Thanks so much for just being you, Hugh. You are my scarecrow. 🙂 Hope your holiday is all you wished for and more. You deserve it. Merry Christmas, my dear friend!!!

  4. I love Michael Buble’s version of this song. It’s so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yay!!! My sister actually recommended this one and I was not as familiar with it… A new favorite. Thanks so much for reading, especially as I have been so Mia in the blogosphere. It means a lot. I am looking forward to catching up with you again very soon!!! Thanks again and enjoy your holiday!! I hope it is restful and refreshing!

  5. Crabs for Christmas – great plan! Love the Grownup Christmas List. I’m on it – every day! A very, merry day to you, my friend! xoxoM

    • I know you are, Margarita, which is one of the things I love doing about you!!!! Hope your holiday is magical. Thanks so much for all of your support and wisdom. And for continuing to read!!!! 🙂 Merry Christmas, my dear!!!

  6. Wait a minute….are you from Baltimore? I’m from the Eastern Shore of Maryland and my husband is from Annapolis. I would do anything for a bushel of steamed crabs about now! There are not too many people outside of Maryland who appreciate the joys of the Chesapeake Bay.

    I hope you holidays were filled with wonderful memories….and Old Bay Seasoning!
    🙂

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

