Tunes Tuesday: Les Miserables

Copyright JC Politi Photography

Copyright JC Politi Photography

I had MLK day off yesterday and I finally went to see Les Mis. I will never forget the first time I saw the play years ago in DC. I had no expectations, but was absolutely blown away. It was love at first listen. So, of course I also enjoyed the movie.

There are so many important themes in this musical – the most powerful of all for me has to be Javert’s struggle to see shades of grey between good and evil.

But the theme of grinding poverty is pervasive in the story. While I was tempted to have Master of the House be this week’s Tunes Tuesday song because it always makes me giggle, I thought instead I would highlight one of the more meaningful and thoughtful songs, At the End of the Day.

At the End of the Day

Workers: At the end of the day you’re another day older
And that’s all you can say for the life of the poor
It’s a struggle, it’s a war
And there’s nothing that anyone’s giving
One more day, standing about, what is it for?
One day less to be living.
At the end of the day you’re another day colder
And the shirt on your back doesn’t keep out the chill
And the righteous hurry past
They don’t hear the little ones crying
And the winter is coming on fast, ready to kill
One day nearer to dying!
At the end of the day there’s another day dawning
And the sun in the morning is waiting to rise
Like the waves crash on the sand
Like a storm that’ll break any second
There’s a hunger in the land
There’s a reckoning still to be reckoned
And there’s gonna be hell to pay
At the end of the day!

[The foreman and workers, including Fantine, emerge.]
Foreman:At the end of the day you get nothing for nothing
Sitting flat on your bum doesn’t buy any bread
Workers:There are children back at home
And the children have got to be fed
And you’re lucky to be in a job
And in a bed!
And we’re counting our blessings!

What do you think? Have you seen Les Mis? What did you think? What themes resonate most for you? What is your favorite musical?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

16 Comments

Filed under Art, Economy, equality, Ethics, Income inequality, International, Love, Music, Poetry, Poverty, Relationships

16 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Les Miserables

  1. This song is absolutely beautiful 🙂

  2. Have only seen the musical in London – and I was so sick .. stomach bug .. and 3 hours show, that was a rough evening.
    Love the story … the musical .. looking forward to the film, haven’t had premiere in Sweden yet. I will wait until I can rent it. Great actors and fantastic director .. can’t go wrong – I hope.
    My favorite musical is “Mamma Mia” – seen it 12 times, mostly because every visitor I got when I lived in UK wanted to see it. “Sister Act” comes second.

  3. I never saw the play, always wanted to. I had the soundtrack and that alone always made me cry. I went to the movie on Saturday and I loved it and would highly recommend it – even if one doesn’t like musicals! My fave song..do you hear the people sing… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Urhry_shYt0

  4. I haven’t seen the movie, but thank you for sharing those powerful lyrics.

  5. I really liked the movie, was fine acting. However, it left me “blah” if that makes any sense.
    I read the book long ago and it kept on the edge, then went to see the musical, was just was a good as the book, but the movie left me wanting more, probably my expectations were too high. Was good nonetheless.

  6. I haven’t watched the new movie yet. I’ve watched the play in years past and the book is currently on my to read list. Can’t wait to explore it.

  7. I haven’t watched the new movie yet. I’ve watched the play in years past and the book is currently on my to read list. Can’t wait to explore it.

  8. Jenni, I loved the movie as well. In some ways, it added more seasoning than the play could on what was happening. I would love your reaction to the post I wrote about ten days called “Les Miserables and Social Injustice.” It picks up on the theme you raise. With your human services background, your opinion mattters much on these issues.Thanks, BTG

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

