Tunes Tuesday: Billy Joel

image

My entertainer

I drove my mom’s car from Baltimore to Colorado this weekend. To pass the time, I bought some cds at Target. Two of these cds were the Essential Bruce Springsteen and the Essential Billy Joel. My throat still hurts from singing.

I have heard this song a million times, but this time, it’s lyrics jumped out at me. Just brilliant. I love the 3:05 line and the can of beans.

This week, I bring you Billy Joel’s The Entertainer.

The Entertainer
Billy Joel

I am the entertainer,
And I know just where I stand
Another serenader,
And another long-haired band.

Today I am your champion.
I may have won your hearts
But I know the game, 
You will forget my name,
And I won’t be here 
In another year,
If I don’t stay on the charts.

I am the entertainer,
And I’ve had to pay my price,
The things I did not know at first,
I learned by doin’ twice.
Ah, but still they come to haunt me,
Still they want their say.
So I’ve learned to dance 
With a hand in my pants,
And they rub my neck, 
And I write ’em a check,
And they go their merry way.

I am the entertainer,
Been all around the world.
I’ve played all kinds of palaces,
And laid all kinds of girls.
I can’t remember faces,
I don’t remember names.
Ah, but what the hell,
You know it’s just as well.
‘Cause after a while 
And a thousand miles,
It all becomes the same.

I am the entertainer,
I bring to you my songs.
I’d like to spend a day or two.
I can’t stay that long.
No, I’ve got to meet expenses.
I got to stay in line.
Gotta get those fees 
To the agencies.
And I’d love to stay, 
But there’s bills to pay,
So I just don’t have the time.

I am the entertainer,
I come to do my show.
You’ve heard my latest record,
It’s been on the radio.
Ah, it took me years to write it,
They were the best years of my life.
It was a beautiful song.
But it ran too long.
If you’re gonna have a hit,
You gotta make it fit–
So they cut it down to 3:05.

I am the entertainer,
The idol of my age.
I make all kinds of money,
When I go on the stage.
Ah, you’ve seen me in the papers,
I’ve been in the magazines.
But if I go cold, 
I won’t get sold.
I’ll get put in the back 
In the discount rack,
Like another can of beans.

I am the entertainer,
And I know just where I stand
Another serenader,
And another long-haired band.
Today I am your champion.
I may have won your hearts.
But I know the game, 
You will forget my name,
And I won’t be here 
In another year,
If I don’t stay on the charts

What do you think? Is there a song with lyrics that you didn’t notice until after listening many times?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

20 Comments

Filed under Music, Poetry

20 responses to “Tunes Tuesday: Billy Joel

  1. Now you’re talkin’: Billy Joel!! 🙂

  2. Michelle T

    Love Billy Joel!

    • Is there anyone who doesn’t??? I remember going to see him in concert about 15 years ago and being blown away when an entire enormous arena sang every word to the Piano Man. Billy Joel didn’t sing one word – it was amazing!! How many performers can pull that off?

  3. air

    Great music for a great road trip 🙂
    Morcheba and Annie DF were also good company in my time as well as Ben Harper 🙂
    i

  4. Surprisingly I don’t think I’d heard this song before. So I listened to it on YouTube. Thanks. It’s a good one. ~Gail

    • Isn’t it so FUN????? I have heard it lots, but never focused on some of the brilliant lyrics until I was in the middle of nowhere with a clear mind. :)Thanks for the comment! Hope you’re doing great!!

  5. Great song … and I just love that photo of your entertainer.

  6. Jenni, you hit two home runs. This is a great Billy Joel song, one of many. I think my two favorites of his are “Scenes from an Italian Restaurant” and “I’ve Loved these Days.” The above song was his first big hit. I remember him singing it live on I think The Mike Douglas Show, which dates me. The Boss, is awesome, of course. Thanks for the memories, BTG

    • BTG!! If you can believe it, scenes from an italian restaurant isn’t even on this cd! And neither is the stranger, which is another favorite of mine. But it has some great lesser-kown songe, like Leningrad and Allentown and You’re My Home, which are absolute favorites. Hopre you’re doing great. In the middle of the legislative session and health reform implementation and just trying to keep my head above water, so sorry I’ve ben mia….

  7. Great tune! Love that your throat is hurting…nothing like a good car concert to pass the time : )

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)

