Sunday Tunes Tuesday – The VP Debate

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Anyone who reads this blog knows that I have quite a few interests, two of which include politics and music. The Vice Presidential debate was held on Thursday evening.

For those who did not watch, it was intense and informative. Many people are saying that Biden won the debate, but I must say that Paul Ryan held his own given his limited experience compared to the Vice President.

Regardless of who you intend to vote for, (as an aside I hope we have all decided that by now), a youtube video in the New York Times this week provides some great entertainment value by putting some of the words from the debate to music.

I couldn’t help but giggle at some of the editing, which makes the candidates look like they are rocking out. And if this gets more people to pay attention to the real issues, I am all for it!

I hope you will take a minute to watch the video, and then consider at least reading the transcript from the debates, even if you do not have time to watch them. Most major newspapers carry the debate transcripts and they are easy enough to find online.

While some will say that the debates are simply a theatrical exercise, I do think there are some nuggets that can help differentiate between the two candidates. That was certainly true in this debate.

To watch the video, click here.

What do you think?
How do you feel about the debates? Do you think they help people decide how to vote? Have you been watching the debates? How do you think debates could be improved?

I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading!

29 Comments

Filed under Culture, Music, Policy, Politcs

29 responses to “Sunday Tunes Tuesday – The VP Debate

  1. The link to the video didn’t work for me 😦 but I agree that people should take an interest and cast informed votes. Rock on J!

  2. I cant decide if I’m amused or nauseated. It works for me as far as brevity goes!

    • newsofthetimes

      I hear you loud and clear. I am amused and nauseated. But it does help lay out some of the issues and hopefully will pique some people’s interest enough to dig a little deeper? That’s my hope. Thanks for checking it out!!

  3. You know what I think about the debates. I do think they are largely theatrical and a waste of time for anyone who has paid attention for the past few months. I shudder to think that a 90 minute debate would change anyone’s mind or help them make it up if they have not already done so!

  4. I always enjoy the vice-presidential debate. After all, these guys are second to the “throne.” It’s important to know where they stand. Loved that video!

    • newsofthetimes

      Agreed. And me too! I thought it was a hoot – and we can always use a non-partisan hoot at this point in a presidential race. Thanks so much for reading and leaving a comment!

  5. Personally, I don’t think debate on TV will make my mind up … I know where I stand, even if it has meant that I haven’t been voting at all for many years.

  6. Great video. I did watch the debate so it was fun to see it put to music and watch these conservative men grooving!

  7. The video is hilarious and genius. I do watch the debates, but it has never swayed me to change my vote. The thing that annoys me is all the fact checking the next day. It leaves me wondering why bother if nothing was the whole truth anyway. Clearly, I enjoy a good train wreck and that’s why I continue to tune in…I don’t know.

    • newsofthetimes

      Me too. I do wish there were fact checkers on the spot so candidates couldn’t get away with saying one thing in that public forum and another everywhere else. Sound like anything you have seen recently? 😉 Thanks so much for your comment!

  8. The video is fantastic. Maybe they would be better if they had to rap responses. Debates are over planned and over analyzed but do lend to the process.

    • newsofthetimes

      I agree, Katie. I think the debates have their place. People shoudn’t make their decision based on the debate alone, but I do think it is a helpful part of the process. Thanks so much for checking it out!! I hope you are doing great!

  9. The debates could be improved by getting a high school or college debate teacher to be the moderator.

  10. Would like to see politicians debating answer questions from online social media for a few minutes on specific topics…more control by moderators..answering questions about topics from that day’s news.

  11. I usually read the transcripts. My husband and I, however, did watch the actual debate on Saturday…I guess it;’s like making sausage? xoM

What do you think? (Note: please check "follow comments" after leaving your comment so you will be notified by e-mail with replies.)